We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
bradford
Level Contributor
251 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Reunion”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I visited the Guide Post last night as guests at a reunion of the company she used to work for. The place was buzzing on arrival as a result of several wedding receptions which were taking place.

We had a (very expensive) drink in the public bar. £8 for a pint of Murphy's and a pint of Kronenburg was well over the top for an out of town hotel I thought. However the house wine at £11 was very reasonable.

We then moved into the room that had been hired for the event (Poppy Room). This had been refurbisged since last years event adn was very warming and comfortable with it's own bar.

The buffet at £15 a head was a varied but strange mix of beef, tuna and cheese sandwcihes, . mushroom pakoras, chicken curry, popadums, tuna and pasta salad, chicken wings and herbed baked potatoes.. All this had to be fitted onto the same small plate and the only cutlery available to eat it with was a fork! There was just about enough curry for all the attendeees to get one small ladel full each although the rest of the food lasted the evening out.

One thing I found strange was that no bottles of wine were kept behind the bar. Every time one was ordered the barfmaid had to ring up and have one brought from elsewhere.

We eventually moved into the public bar which was still going strong when we left slightly the worse for wear at 3 a.m!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    95
    55
    15
    15
See reviews for
50
85
7
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here in Feb 2012 and wasn't really satisfied with the size of the room, for the price I paid. However the room was infact clean and neat.

Bar was busy at all times, not enough staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossley
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our room was small although very nice and clean. The bar was nice although the staff were pretty poor. We tried to get a drink when we got back and waited almost 10min and nobody came to serve. A glass collector came behind the bar with some glasses and we asked if the bar was still open and she said yes, we then asked if we could get a drink and her reply was "if you can get someone to serve you!". We had similar issues trying to get served before we went out so I wouldn't say this was a one off.
The breakfast was of a very good standard however it wasn't buffet style, it too quite a while to come and was fairly small portions.

It's fairly out of the way location wise and a good 15min from the city centre however it suited us as we were going to a party fairly local.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfox1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

stayed 1 night clean confortable lovely bathroom couldn't ask for much more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised to find an excellent value, clean and well maintained hotel just a 5 minute walk from where we were attending an evening event.

We found the staff helpful, friendly and eager to please. The booking and check in procedures were extremely smooth, and all information and help required was given promptly and without fault. We needed to eat in the restaurant before going out in the evening and the restaurant manager was extremely helpful and efficient in ensuring we were fed and out by 7pm. The meal was excellent quality and good value for a hotel restaurant. The room was spacious and spotless! Not a speck of dust to be found :-) A pleasant change from many of the larger chain hotels we have stayed in before. Would definitely recommend if the location suits (for us it as perfect) and will be staying again if in the area. We signed up on departure for Best Western bonus card, took a brochure of all other Best Western hotels around the country and look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalmoralMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
1.5 km away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
511 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
9.0 km away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.1 km away
Great Victoria Hotel
Great Victoria Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
766 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel

Property: Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel
Address: Common Road | Low Moor, Bradford BD12 0ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,449 - ₹ 5,748
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel England
Bradford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing