We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good but...”
Review of Masala Gate - CLOSED

Masala Gate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really good but...”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Lots of flavor to the curry but the Garlic nan had too much butter on top which made it overpowering and soggy. The rice was good but too much salt and oil / butter. Overall enjoyed the food. Onion bhajee was excellent.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    45
    20
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Not sure I understand the last reviews rating. Enjoyed it and scores 3/5.
Eaten here for years and it is exceptional Indian. Menu is tight is not huge, but offers good choices.
Service is very good. Not the greatest ambience, but I have found over the years that you cannot eat that.
Too many places around Chichester base their food on their view/place to be seen and the prices to match.
Do your research before you eat in West Sussex.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HARWOOD186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fixed price business lunch £7.95”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We were the only ones there and the retauarant had no heating on, so had to keep my coat on. Typical smallish Indian type restaurant with nice white tablecloths, limited choice on fixed menu as advertised outside and on website, no variations eg nan bred was allowed, nice tasty starter and main course, and good value, one of main meals too oily but still very tasty. There was plenty to eat, and nicely cooked as was the rice. For the price it was good and I might use it again for same lunch menu in future some time, as I couldnt find a weekday lunchtime Indian buffet anywhere in Chichester..

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outforpanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Always a joy to dine here”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Wonderful restaurant.
Can be a little cramped and noisy at times but the owner is so passionate about providing freshly cooked meals and is happy to spend time chatting to diners.
The food is always tip top.
Oftne treated to extra free courses and after-dinner brandies. Makes it excellent value.
Best curry house for miles around.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OutnAbout007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were grateful to be fitted in on a busy Friday night. The food was delicious and of good quality. The service was excellent, attentive without being overbearing. It's a pity we are not more local !

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SueBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Gate also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing