We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveller rating
577
333
99
36
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
333
99
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthend barnscountry hotelbusy roadpatio areamain buildingfour poster bedlovely hotelbar and restaurantlovely roomwest witteringthe ground flooreggs benedictshort breakone night staychichester areavisiting chichesterlittle gem
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

I live in Canada but visit my family in UK at least once a year. For the past five years, I have been staying at Crouchers so that I can be close to my mother who lives on the coast. The staff are always very welcoming and have consistently been accommodating with any specific needs. On this particular trip, Christine was outstanding in resolving a particular issue, and I am very appreciative of her efforts. The housekeeping staff are also excellent.
Due to the welcoming nature of the staff, and willingness to accommodate individual needs, Crouchers has become a home from home, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family, friends and business colleagues.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armourriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrouchersCrouchers, Guest Relations Manager at Crouchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review armourriley! We're over the moon that you feel we are a 'home from home' for you, it lets us know that we're getting it right! We're pleased to know that all of our staff are providing a brilliant service and that you would recommend us. We really do appreciate such a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Enjoyed food. Very innovative and good quality. Room also very good but only criticism is that it was far too warm, but cleanliness spot on and excellent facilities provided. Also would have preferred a room which wasn’t right near the entrance door shared by other rooms because of noise and also another guest had left it unlocked when we returned on one occasion. But as it was quiet the weekend we stayed not much of an issue really.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank helencwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrouchersCrouchers, Guest Relations Manager at Crouchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi helencwhite, thank you for your review! We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's good to know that our facilities are excellent. Sorry to hear that the location of your room wasn't as you had liked in regards to having a joint entrance hall. When you next stay reception can see if it's possible to give you a room without an adjoining entrance hall, dependant on how full the hotel is. Just let us know when you book and we'd be more than happy to accommodate if we can! Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The booking was for eight people. Only one stand of sandwiches and the 3 cake selection was very poor as it was all very similar, very uncreative. Scones were very nice and the cutlery etc. was clean. At £15 however, over priced by £5. We had afternoon tea at the Avisford Hotel, Arundel last year (£17.50) a head, and the difference between the two is stark!
At the Avisford, plenty of choice and enough for everyone, staff were also more attentive. The staff at Crouchers didn't even bother to ask if we enjoyed the experience or say goodbye when we left, they just continued talking to each other as we passed by. One last disappointment: we notified the staff at the point of booking and paying a deposit, that the ocassion was for a Grandads 80th birthday....no effort was made, not even a happy birthday!
Pay the extra and go to the Avisford!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrouchersCrouchers, Guest Relations Manager at Crouchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Andrew W. We're sorry to hear that you're visit did not live up to expectations and that you felt disappointed with the service on this particular day. As you can see by many of our other reviews this is not normally the case with our service. We apologise for what seems, to us, to be a miscommunication in regards to it being a Grandad's 80th birthday. If you could give us a call on 01243 784995 to discuss the matter we would greatly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This was our fourth visit to this hotel. There was an initial hiccup as when we booked we specifically requested a twin room with French doors opening on to the field behind the hotel. We were given a double room with no French doors and we were told that no rooms of the type we requested were available. We had to be a bit assertive before a suitable room was prepared for us. After that our visit was excellent - the room appeared to have been newly refurbished so was very clean and well appointed. The food was very good as usual and when our family visited for dinner they really enjoyed it and the service was very friendly. We had to leave a day early because of the approaching snow and the manager - without our asking - didn't charge us for the other night we'd booked

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stevewhiting2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrouchersCrouchers, Guest Relations Manager at Crouchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your review stevewhiting2018. We do apologise for the hiccup at the beginning and hope it didn't impact too much on your stay. We're glad to know you enjoyed the food and that our service was friendly! Hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We attended a wedding at the nearby Southend barn. We stayed in a comfy luxe room which was a beautiful room in the eves. Loveky comfy bed and gorgeous bath and shower. Staff behind the bar were friendly. Breakfast was a feast and waitresses very professional and polite. A lovely hotel highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TequilaSunrise214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrouchersCrouchers, Guest Relations Manager at Crouchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for your review TequilaSunrise214. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here! It's great to know we're getting it right regarding our rooms, food and service. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews