We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 249
US$ 238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crouchers Hotel(Chichester)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 184
US$ 178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Boathouse Bosham(Bosham)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 140
US$ 135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bulls Head(Fishbourne)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lockgate Dairy(Sidlesham)
US$ 274
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Landseer House(Sidlesham)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 131
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spire Cottage(Hunston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,639)
Filter reviews
1,639 results
Traveller rating
780
482
226
104
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
780
482
226
104
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar and grillhealth clubchef restaurantplay golfgolf breaklovely hotelsculpture parkspa facilitieschanging roomsrace trackbirthday treatwaiting staffenjoyable staygarden roomhigh standardrelaxing breakwedding party
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,639 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

The hotel is rural, located about 5 miles north of Chichester and definitely somewhere where you would need a car to do any sightseeing. The hotel is OK and the desk staff do try their best to cater for your needs. The big problem with the hotel is some of the services are not well designed for guests convenience and the disparity between the excellent service in the Farmer, Butcher, Chef restaurant and bar and the frankly disappointing service in the Goodwood bar and grill.
Its great that the hotel allows dogs to stay, and the dogs bed, bowl and treats are all appreciated, but there is no dedicated dog walking area and the lack of dog waste bins means that dog mess bags pile up near the entrances. Also due to heavy rain while we were there, some dog owners decide at nearly midnight to let their dogs out into the carpark to do their business and then inconsiderately call for their dogs to come back disturbing the other guests!
The other ridiculous design is the swimming pool, having to walk past the pool each time to enter the golf shop to get an access card for the changing rooms before then walking back along the corridor to access the pool. There is a desk near the entrance of the pool but this is a money making enterprise to sell massage and body care?
The Rooms are very well provisioned, although my mattress was obviously well past its use date having two very distinct depressions on either side of the bed! The bathroom is excellent although the bath towel is too big to effectively dry oneself, its designed for the lazy wrap around and drip dry, which is what the bath robes are also very effective at doing. Please supply proper usable bath towels?
The allowance of Dogs in the restaurants is appreciated. We had two excellent meals in the Farmer, Butcher and Chef restaurant and had excellent diligent staff on both occasions. These staff were excellent service orientated, not too engaged but monitoring the tables and very easy to attract for service. The Goodwood bar and grill on the other hand was generally very poor. I appreciate they have a much greater turnover of clients but their services are poor often waiting and having to remind staff of orders and requests. Finally, the rules regarding dogs in this restaurant was a daily chore with the rules appearing to depend on who was on duty? Overall the service in this bar, having to haggle to get the dog into the restaurant at breakfast time ruined what was otherwise a very enjoyable three night stay!

Room Tip: The hotel is built around a huge courtyard and although all connected can get confusing to move between rooms?
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoodwoodHotel, Guest Relations at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Colin, thank you for your comprehensive feedback following your recent stay with us. There were clearly some good and bad points and I will ensure that the issues you have raised are discussed with the relevant Department Manager.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We booked a golf break through golfbreaks.com which as always is very easy and they are very good. When we arrived at the hotel unfortunately the weather was raining very hard. We looked at the 18 hole on the park course and it was under water - UNPLAYABLE. the forecast wasn't great for the next few days, so we tried to cancel or move our break to another date. I rang golfbreaks and they discussed it with the Goodwood Hotel General Manager and as the course was not "Closed" it was our choice not to play therefore there was nothing he would do to help. We were very disappointed as the course was clearly underwater and unplayable. so we went to the golf pro shop and discussed it with Rob and Alice who were absolutely fantastic a real credit to the hotel, they completely changed our break and were so helpful and we were able to change to the Downs Course instead. They really were the saviours of our break, not like the General Manager. The course being "OPEN" is clearly their get out clause for any amendments. We understand you can't do anything about the weather but this was outrageous. However from then on we had a lovely time, the food in the hotel was really good and our room was lovely. The downs course is fantastic and would like to play there again in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mel770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoodwoodHotel, General Manager at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there Mel, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were given the wrong information when you called the Hotel, however I do not recall this conversation, and it certainly doesn't sound like the sort of thing I would have said. I wonder if you could contact the office so that I can discuss this with you in person and find out who you actually did speak to. Please contact the Hotel's main number 01243 775537 and ask for either myself, Brian Crook or my PA Christine Jones. I look forward to speaking with you .

Brian Crook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The entrance to this hotel is lovely and very country pretty. Plenty of car parking space. The reception was very friendly and efficient. Rooms spacious, clean, well furnished, soft very comfortable beds, tea making facilities. Bath room excellent, lots of towels and REN products. Breakfast, friendly staff again, buffet good choice they also have an a la Carte hot options. We had dinner in the main dining room, large portions for us.
Good food but small menu choice mostly meat. We all enjoyed the stay, I am sure we will be back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoodwoodHotel, Guest Relations at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Sara, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and it was good to read that you seemed to have enjoyed the experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

The rooms were all as expected with exceptionally good beds although no mains plugs by the beds so you need an extension lead to have your phone charging on the bedside.
The dining experience lacked in a number of aspects. Breakfast was fine although you have the ask for source which then takes another 5mins to bring out. They give you (as ordered) 4 slices of toast and then a ration of butter only enough for 1.5 slices. Then you have to wait for the next tiny ration of butter by which time the food is stone cold. It’s all a bit strange.
To top it off, we were working late and got back at 9.20 by which time the chef had gone home and there were not even bar snacks available (not even the peanuts due to H&S apparently)
The bar then closed by 10pm.
Food, dining & beverage experience 2/10, very poor.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoodwoodHotel, Guest Relations at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thomas, I was sorry to read that you thought the food offering poor during your recent stay with us. I am a little confused as to why you went without food due to working late, The Goodwood Bar & Grill serves meals up until 9:30 p.m. each day and we offer a 24 hour room service menu. I wonder if you could contact me directly so that I can discuss this with you in more detail, my email address is Christine.jones@Goodwood.com. Thank you for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Was attending a business course in the area. Spent 2 nights in the hotel.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Managed to get into the room early
Room was very good. Clean. Good facilities. Internet connection was excellent. Bed was very comfortable.
Ate in the Bar and Grill. Food was good, service a bit on the slow side but staff again were friendly

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoodwoodHotel, Guest Relations at The Goodwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review of your recent stay with us, glad to read that things were to your liking. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Christine Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews