We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit but won't again unless going with our Grand daughter.”

WWT Arundel Wetland Centre
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Set in the splendor of the South Downs; adjacent to the River Arun; overlooked by the historic Arundel Castle skyline this gorgeous wetland reserve is a great place for a great day out in West Sussex for the whole family. Arundel Wetland Centre is home to a collection of over 50 species of wildfowl from around the world in natural settings, on display 364 days a year so there is always something to see. This gorgeous nature reserve has free boat rides and an amazing reedbed boardwalk. The 8 wildlife hides bring you close to Sussex wildlife plus there is a family oriented Discovery Hide which hosts events in wet weather. Added to this are two adventure playgrounds, the Water’s Edge Cafe serving hot meals from 12-2pm and a gift shop with unique take-home treats. Arundel Wetland Centre is fully accessible with buggy and wheelchair friendly pathways, comfortable hides and disabled and parent & baby facilities.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is a centre mainly for families. The walks are only very short and nothing more than binoculars are needed. Great for gulls but not a lot else on the day we visited. Very Friendly staff and a handy restaurant are worth a positive mention.

Thank wendover6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTArundel, Public Relations Manager at WWT Arundel Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks for your review. Our 8 hides are all close to the visitor centre overlooking wild areas with a wide variety of wildlife that is close to the hides. What wildlife you can see varies from time of day and season. The gulls currently nesting are blac-headed gulls - there chicks are hatching out now and some are visible from the cafe windows. Visit our website for a weekly list of wildlife sightings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water voles"
in 68 reviews
"boat ride"
in 75 reviews
"reed beds"
in 54 reviews
"pond dipping"
in 42 reviews
"electric boat"
in 26 reviews
"bird life"
in 21 reviews
"bird watching"
in 11 reviews
"the reserve"
in 12 reviews
"ducks and geese"
in 17 reviews
"bird lovers"
in 7 reviews
"feeding area"
in 7 reviews
"few hours"
in 22 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 7 reviews
"different species"
in 8 reviews
"lovely place to visit"
in 14 reviews
"information boards"
in 7 reviews
"school holidays"
in 12 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had not been here for six years so was looking forward to our visit. Lots of easy paths, great hides and good café and shop. High lights for us were Peregrine Falcon, 3 Med gulls in the Black-headed gull roost and quite a few Common gulls too. Lots of ducks and geese of course. Other little treats were a weasel and some bank voles. We will certainly be back for another visit.

Thank CAROL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTArundel, Public Relations Manager at WWT Arundel Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Wow you had a good day spotting wildlife - thanks for your positive review. Glad to have you back again for a visit and hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Bigger than expected. Massive variety of ducks to see. Great to see them diving for food. Boat safari good and very informative.

Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTArundel, Public Relations Manager at WWT Arundel Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks for your positive review review - glad you enjoyed the boat safari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

I absolutely loved my 1st visit to WWT Arundel. Not only is it crammed full of ducks I've never seen before, the views of Arundel castle and the stunning South Downs are a wonderful vista.
Boat safaris lasting 15 to 20 mins are offered free of charge, but suggest a pound donation. A wildlife guide through the reedbeds in a quiet electric boat is something different from other wildlife centres
I've been to.
Lots of hides are placed throughout the wetland area.
A hand feeding bay is near the visitor centre, where you can feed seed to the ducks, geese and other waterfowl.
A giftshop, restaurant, toilets are in the entrance.
A large car park is available and free of charge.
I've never given anything 5 star on Trip Advisor but I had to this time. Wonderful here!

1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTArundel, Public Relations Manager at WWT Arundel Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Wow - we are honored to be your first 5 star review! Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018

WWT Arundel is located close to Arundel Castle and the Black Rabbit pub, so you can really make this a memorable day out. In addition to the well-placed bird hides you should spend some time watching the bird feeder locations to see which finches, tits and other small birds are feeding. Spend a long time watching the swans and geese too. Last but not least, make sure you have the short boat ride around the reedbeds because you might spot a kingfisher there, and if it is the right season you can observe the sand martins at the nesting area.

1  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTArundel, Public Relations Manager at WWT Arundel Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks for your positive review -currently the kingfishers are back onsite fishing to feed youngsters stashed somewhere nearby. We have taken down the bird feeders for the seasons as there is lots of natural food sources around for the birds now. We will put them back in the winter months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WWT Arundel Wetland Centre also viewed

 

Been to WWT Arundel Wetland Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing