We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,355)
Filter reviews
2,355 results
Traveller rating
533
676
611
333
202
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
676
611
333
202
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course outdoor pool garden lodge lovely grounds spa break sauna and steam room leisure facilities lounge area a bit tired lots of choice afternoon tea breakfast was excellent short break arundel castle tennis countryside west
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,355 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018

The building is scruffy and poorly looked after and the interior is tired and dirty in places. The beds are hard and lumpy and noise levels are something else. Breakfast is well cooked by the kitchen staff, but even that was marred by the bits of food and greasy fingerprints visible all over the wallpaper.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Departure13051842905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Departure13051842905

Thank you for your review of Hilton Avisford Park.

It was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Regarding the overall standard of accommodation; we are pleased to advise that at hotel level we are currently softly refurbishing some of our bedrooms and replacing bedroom carpets. We have also recently completed our bed replacement project; your feedback regarding the quality of the beds has, however, been noted and we apologise for any discomfort experienced.

On a positive note, we were glad that you enjoyed your breakfast dining experience and confirm your comment regarding the wallpaper has been passed to our Restaurant Manager, for review and remedial action as appropriate.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards


Richard Hopton
General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Lovely surroundings and the room was fine, but the hotel could do with a refurb. The staff are consistently helpful and friendly. Dinner was quality although the menu was slightly limited. Breakfast was perfect. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Dave B

Thank you for your review of Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay.

Regarding the overall standard of accommodation; we are pleased to advise we are currently softly refurbishing some of our bedrooms, at hotel level and are replacing bedroom carpets.

As we pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team, we were pleased to note this was your experience.

We were also glad that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast dining experiences, although we have noted your feedback regarding the limitation of the menu which has been passed to our Head Chef for review.

Thank you once again for your positive review and recommendation. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards


Richard Hopton
General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break with my new wife and our 14 month old son. Everybody was polite and welcoming from the staff to the other guests. I had informed the Hotel prior to my stay that we were celebrating a mini moon and they made sure that we were very well looked after and had the best time.

Every staff member was helpful, polite, and hospitipal, from room service, to the GM, to the chef at breakfast!

We made goood use of the pool and also had some treatments by the beauty therapist Hollie who was excellent.

Child friendly, good food, great staff!

Yes, the rooms are a little dated but when you stay at a property like this I think it is important to know where you are staying. It’s not a brand new property with all the mod cons, but it has character and was as expected.

Can’t wait to visit this beautiful part of the world again, and enjoy the hospitality at this Hilton.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jon_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Jon_Gordon

Thank you for your excellent review of Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were delighted to read this was your experience during your special visit. Thank you for your particular mention of Hollie, Beauty Supervisor; your kind comments have been shared with Hollie and the rest of the team. We are very fortunate to have a wide range of leisure facilities and were glad you had opportunity to utilise some of them.

We were also pleased the quality of meals met with your satisfaction and you appreciated our character property.

Thank you once again for your excellent review. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards


Richard Hopton
General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

We stayed at this hotel to see a Michael Buble/Robbie Williams tribute, plus a three course meal and all at an amazing price.
Although we have been here before, were are always impressed when we enter the grounds and this grand old building comes into view.
The welcome at reception is always friendly and efficient, meaning we are soon in our room unpacking. The room was a good size, with a nice bathroom that included a shower and everything was spotlessly clean.
The evening meal was so well organised that although obviously there was a lot of people sitting down to a meal, Darren did an amazing job controlling things to ensure guests got served promptly and the food was first class.
The singer was brilliant with a great voice and gave a faultless evenings entertainment, that even the most critical would not end up enjoying.
My only criticism over our whole stay was on the afternoon we arrived, we decided to have a drink in the lounge all the tables that had nobody sitting at them were full of glasses etc where they had not been cleared including the outside area tables. Whilst I realise the hotel was very busy because apart from guest staying that were going to the evening event, there was also a wedding reception taking place and I would assume extra staff should have been organised to cover the expected amount of guests.
At breakfast once again there was a wait for hot food, as they were very short and lots of guests including us were constantly asking for food to be replenished. But I must add that once I got my breakfast it was of the standard we expect from a Hilton hotel.
Overall we will not hesitate to return to this great hotel that may not be modern, but is in a perfect location and staffed by friendly staff that are happy to make sure guests have a great stay.
This hotel would be 5 star rating except for the mentioned short comings

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronborrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear ronborrett

Thank you for your review of Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay.

We were delighted that overall you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the special tribute event with entertainment and good quality meal. We were also glad the standard of accommodation and cleanliness met with your satisfaction.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were delighted to read this was your experience. Thank you for your particular mention of Darren; your kind comments will be shared with Darren and the rest of the team.

Your feedback regarding the lack of team members available to service the tables during the afternoon and the availability of hot food at breakfast, has been passed to our Restaurant Manager and Head Chef for review and remedial action; we apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment experienced.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for a further stay.

Kind regards


Richard Hopton
General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times for work and I have to say the hotel is spot on.

The staff are great as well as the facilities. The gym, although small, is decent for a work out after work. The pool and spa facilities are also very good. Although the steam room has the brightest light ever in it, me thinks a change here is required.

The rooms are comfy and although 1980s style dated, it kind of adds to the charm.

I didn't go for 5 stars as I honestly think the food prices are too high. I can't see how it is reasonable to charge 15 quid for a burger. I think the pricing here needs to be reviewed.

In light of the above, I never stay for breakfast as I can get a decent breakfast for 5 quid elsewhere.

Anyways...... All in all a great hotel and I will definitely use it again. I will just bring a packed lunch in the future.

Bye for now my friends.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 769tonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Tony H

Thank you for your review of Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay.

We are delighted to read that you find the hotel ideal when staying in the area on business. We are very fortunate to have a wide range of leisure facilities which we are pleased to note you have had opportunity to utilise during your stays; your feedback regarding the steam room light has, however, been noted and will be passed to our Health Club Manager for review and remedial action as appropriate.

We are also pleased that you find the accommodation comfortable and in keeping with the character of the property.

Your feedback regarding the price of meals has been noted and will be considered when the menu is next reviewed.

Thank you once again for your positive and constructive feedback. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards


Richard Hopton
General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews