We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice drinks, bad communication”

The Botanist Coventry
Ranked #30 of 685 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 24
Description: It started with a seed, an idea to create a secret garden of food and drink. A place where antiquities and trinkets hang from the walls, and resident botanists craft unusual concoctions. Some arrive for the live music, some for the conversation; but here at The Botanist, all can enjoy a wondrous occasion...
Restaurant details
Description: It started with a seed, an idea to create a secret garden of food and drink. A place where antiquities and trinkets hang from the walls, and resident botanists craft unusual concoctions. Some arrive for the live music, some for the conversation; but here at The Botanist, all can enjoy a wondrous occasion...
Reviewed 29 May 2021

We arrived at the door to be told there was outside tables only, which we said was perfect for us. We sat down, ordered and paid online for drinks and as soon as they arrived was told we had to finish up as it was closing. When we asked why we weren’t told this when we arrived, we were given a table ‘inside’, which we appreciated. We asked what time they close, and was told we have until 12:45, at this point it was 12:05, so we ordered another round, again as soon as half of it arrived we told we had to finish up (12:20). We asked why, when we were originally told that it was until 12:45, and the response was ‘management can change times and there was 80 people when you asked, and now there is only your table, and so it is now different to when you were sat’. So all in all, good quality cocktails, but £150 spent just to be rushed and made to feel we were a burden to their close down, and not welcome, and even had the gate closed on us before we had even able to leave the door. I’ve been here before, and it can be amazing, but an awful visit this time, and wasted money.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Citywalker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina M, General Manager at The Botanist Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Citywalker95,

Thank you for your time taking to write the review!

I am sorry to hear you were left to feel not welcome at the time of you visit and weren’t able to truly enjoy the Botanist experience.

I believe you were contacted previously with regards to the above matter and that was all resolved, however if there’s anything further you’d like to discuss- please do not hesitate to email myself to coventryagma@thebotanist.uk.com

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2021 via mobile

I loved the place and the service. I was served by the waiter Jim, he was amazing, professional and caring. I would recommend the botanist to everyone!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Giorgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina M, General Manager at The Botanist Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Giorgia,

Thank you so much for you lovely 5 star review and kind words about our server Jim!

Hope to see you soon ☺️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021 via mobile

Had a good time with friends, food and drinks were great and our server Jim was amazing and funny. He made our evening really special and we had a great time! Thank you

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank anetamF6514BX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina M, General Manager at The Botanist Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Aneta,

Thank you for the great feedback and for your 5 star review

I am very happy to hear that you’ve had an amazing time and Jim made your evening, I will definitely pass this on.

See you soon ☺️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021

Jim was absolutely amazing!! Made our evening so good, what an asset to the botanist! Thank you Jim! X

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 471elysiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina M, General Manager at The Botanist Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey,

I am glad you’ve had a great time and Jim made it extra special for you! He is definitely an asset and I would pass your lovely words to Jim

See you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

A group of us went out for lunch and drinks on Saturday afternoon. The food was lovely and we had a great time.

Special mentions to Sophie and Jordan who were really attentive and looked after us all day. They're both a credit to your business.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank gracel474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina M, General Manager at The Botanist Coventry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Grace!

Thank you for this fabulous review and I am happy to hear you’ve had great time at the Botanist, Coventry!

Sophie and Jordan were really pleased to hear your kind words when we passed them on.

Hope to see you soon again ☺️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Botanist Coventry also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Botanist Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.