We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's ok. looks better inside than outside, but not the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“it's ok. looks better inside than outside, but not the best.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

i stayed here for one night, the hotel looks a little horrible outside - very old and dated in style. the reception area is very nice and clean and modern. The corridors to the room was a bit in need of some tidying up and some room doors have seen better days. My room was very small, but ideal for one person. The decor is nice, the room was warm and tidy. It wasn't dirty but it wasn't that clean either - i found a few suspect hairs in the bed and on the pillow and when i got the spare pillow out of the wardrobe it had mould on it so I had to ask at reception for it to be replaced - which they did very quickly, but there was no apology for the state of the other pillow. The furniture is quite old and I didn't really want to hand my coat in the wardrobe - just because it looked "well" used and a bit sticky! The bathroom was ok, bath with shower, tiny sink and a toilet - the mirror above the sink was clean but the tiles between the mirror and sink weren't that clean - i could see drip marks of either water and soap or cleaning product. The bathroom door was a bit dirty too. As i was only staying for one night and it was cheap decided that it did the job it was meant to, but i wouldn't choose to stay there any longer than one or two nights maximum. My parents stayed a couple of floors up and their room did have an aroma of dampness and their shower had hardly any water pressure. They were on the inside of the hotel so faced the carpark, whereas I was on the outside and had a view of Birmingham (the hotel is round).
Staff were ok, only really encountered the reception staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annmarie3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    382
    235
    83
    60
See reviews for
98
334
87
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
273 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

A short drive from the centre of Birmingham, and within 5 minutes of the university.. We had a very good deal on the room, with breakfast.
The room was large, with a big bath, and all the facilities we needed for our stay.
The breakfast was good - plenty available, in a sizable restaurant.
On-site parking available, but at extra cost. For those who don't want to pay to park, there are side streets within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I read the reviews, and yes, my room was on the small side and pizza shaped. But if you're only spending a few nights, it's not a problem. Recently refurbished, nicely decorated, clean, comfortable bed, all the bits & bobs (ironing board, trouser press, kettle etc).

I would have gone for a 4 rating, until I had breakfast which lets the hotel down. (I do like a good breakfast.) Limited selection, poor quality (watery bacon, synthetic sausages, plastic egg, under-ripe tomatoes, tinned fruit salad etc etc), unattractively presented, and grumpy staff.

I would probably stay here again, but I wouldn't have breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strath01, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear DH76

Thank you for your comments and was sorry to hear that you were not happy with breakfast, we do not get many complaints about this and it is always helpful to get feedback, we are introducing a new breakfast and service standard in the not to distant future and would recommend trying again. Once again thank you for your feedback and was sorry to read that on this occasion our breakfast did not meet your standards.

Kind regards
Kevin Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

booked room via onhotels.com-----single room
booking in staff very good
room very clean bit small but ok
bathroom old but again very clean
free wi-fi / flat screen tv /tea coffee hot chc on room tray
bar prices very fair
breakfast was inc and very good value if paid for
six pound in taxi to broard street
car park with cctv
this hotel is good as are the staff --i would stay again

Room Tip: call hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corby
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Booked this hotel for a short weekend in Birmingham, it was for 2 nights with dinner on the first night and breakfast on two mornings.
The building is strange - it's circular, with rooms to the outside and inside courtyard. Our room was on the 7th floor on the inner circle facing into a small open area. The furnishings within the room were of good quality, including the bathroom facilities. At times the room was too hot, even with the widow open as far as it would go. A fan is offered and available at reception.
The view from our widow wasn't great, but we weren’t there for the view. The hotel has many features advertised, but other than the restaurant we didn’t have time to use them.
The staff were friendly and the hotel internally in good condition.
The charge about £20 for evening meals and about £10 for breakfast, we only paid £86 in total? I’ll let you do the maths.
The outer rooms are roomier and have twin windows, more light in the room; the down side may be some road noise to the front of the hotel. Our room didn’t suffer from any road noise.
All our meals were good, you have to ask for a fried egg, which wasn’t a problem for the staff, Our main meal consisted of 3 courses, all good on all the choices we made.
The hotel charges for the car parking, but this is only £3.50 per night, after parking up we used local taxi’s to get into the centre (about £6.00), but it is within walking distance or take a bus directly outside the hotel.
It is advertised that WiFi is free, it is, but it’s a pain, it didn’t work well on the 7th floor for either my phone our friends lap tops, Once the signal was lost you need to log back in. It’s probably fine downstairs in the foyer and bar.
I certainly would use this hotel again and will be keeping an eye out for this bargain offer.

Room Tip: inner rooms are small tapered rooms for couples, the outer rooms are bigger for those with families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rscorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
565 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#81 of 118 in Birmingham
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Rd, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,647 - ₹ 7,377
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing