We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

As you would expect from a new hotel it's very modern and contemporary in design and decoration. For me, however, the real bonus was the staff. I have never seen such a happy team, nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a smile.

A couple of tips that might help you, when you hold the room key/card against the outside sensor it goes green, You then need to push the door open not, like we did, try to turn the round handle !

Car parking, there is a small "pull in" outside the hotel to drop off your bags etc, to get to the Selfridges car park just drive under the railway bridge and the entrance is immediately on the left. £5.00 for overnight parking, just get reception to validate your card and pay in the car park machine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPG1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
The whole team at Hotel La Tour Birmingham work hard to deliver excellent customer service so it's particularly welcoming to hear you had such a great time, and that you noticed this through the team I'll make sure your comments are passed on. Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    655
    226
    79
    42
See reviews for
187
1,109
54
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Buckby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I have organised a workshop at the Hotel La-Tour on 13th September 2012. If you are looking to organise a workshop in Birmingham or you just need a small room for a business meeting, than this is the perfect place! The location is perfect, is only 7 minutes’ walk from Birmingham New Street Station, the food is excellent and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff. The communication with the hotel was excellent. They are all very helpful, all you need to do is just ask and they will accommodate all your needs. The meeting room we had was very spacious, perfect for the number of delegates we had (30), illuminated with big windows and very comfortable; also fitted with the latest technology. I have also stayed at the hotel the night before the workshop and had dinner in Aalto restaurant. The room is very comfortable and clean and the food was fabulous! I will recommend Hotel La-Tour for business or pleasure and is definitely on the top of my list for future workshops or just a night out in Birmingham!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Really enjoyed the great service and luxurious feel to the hotel.
Breakfast was good quality. Would look forward to returning to the hotel.
We stayed in a City Room which was more than adequate for us, with all the latest technology and good quality furnishings and fittings.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

A fantastic sleek and modern hotel, with the latest technology throughout. An ideal location for New Street Station, The Bullring and a night out in Birmingham. A superbly stylish property with ultra modern facilities, outstanding staff members and everything you could wish for in hotel stay. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mertyl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Food was freshly cooked and beautifully presented and decent portions, lovely! We had pudding and there were plenty of sumptuous desserts to choose from really gorgeous Jaffa cake pudding! We indulged in the peanut chocolate popcorn which was cooked especially for us! Everything was perfect! Service was excellent staff were nice and friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble
The only negative was we ordered bread to start and that was £2 for 3 pieces I think it should be complimentary.
Well worth going to this beautiful brand new hotel!

Room Tip: We didn't sleep there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you were so pleased with the quality of the food – Alex Penhaligon, our head chef, will be delighted to receive your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley/Alex Penhaligon, Head Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,929 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,679 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,255 - ₹ 23,484
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing