We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place & people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Beautiful rooms, modern yet comfortable. The room and restaurant was very stylish and the staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive. We stayed with two young children who were made very welcome in the hotel, bar and restaurant. The bathrooms are a real luxury and watching TV in the bath was a great touch! Unique and down to earth - a welcome additon to the Birmingham scene.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomer000355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,475 - 2,479 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

I had to stay in Birmingham overnight on business on a unplanned trip. I happened across the Hotel la Tour on route from Moore Street station . What a stunning hotel and a great surprise, I usualy stay at Malmaison, but will definateley be back at Hotel La Tour for future stays.
Food & service was top drawer and the client I was entertaining who was from Birmingham, was also very impressed. We didnt do cocktails but they were very tempting, The Ipad wine lists were great fun and our Tweed Kettle Sea Trout and Suffolk stew were also perfect. My bedroom was spot on, smart, funky and for a city centre hotel, incredibly quiet, they must have invested in really good quality glazing. All in all has to be Birminghams best kept secret, a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

What a fabulous find, I stayed at the hotel recently as my normal stopover in Birmingham was full! Lucky for me I found La Tour on Bookings.com and having read the reviews I was not worried about my choice. The hotel exceeded my expectations, everything was first class. Will definately be staying again next time I'm in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceRoberts49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in the La Tour for the weekend and were surprised at the quality of everything we experienced from the moment we saw the Hotel. Very modern and stylish with exceptionally comfortable and contemporary rooms , the free WiFi was an added bonus. The meal we had in the Restaurant was extremely good , served by a very attentive team . With such a short walk to the Bullring it was great for us for shopping which my partner took full advantage of. We had a great weekend and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel La Tour, Birmingham. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

It was a wet and miserable evening when we made our way to Hotel La Tour to sample the food which had been highly recommended by friends. If first impressions were anything to go by, then dinner had to be fantastic - excellent staff from the outset. I sampled one of the amazing sounding cocktails "The 1889" which was so delightful I had to have another one (or was it two!!). We were taken to our table and left to take in the fabulous looking menu. We both chose the harrogate leaf to start, which was quite frankly amazing - we both licked our plates clean!!! For our mains I chose the belly pork (cooked to perfection) with a side order of mashed potato (heavenly), my partner had perfectly cooked and tender steak and triple cooked chips - I can only assume he liked it as his plate was wiped clean!!! We were both stuffed but after looking at the pudding menu felt it would be rude not to sample them - we chose banana bread and butter pudding and apple and gingerbread crumble - again both choices were absolutely faultless, needless to say we polished them both off.

Our experience of Hotel La Tour and Aalto was excellent, we had a fantastic meal, the staff were amazing attentive without being suffocating. We will most definitely be returning again, with the only dilemma being what to eat next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour, Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,249 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,211 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England (Formerly Hotel La Tour)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 5,956 - ₹ 16,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Birmingham has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing