We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grab a cuppa”

Kitchen Garden Cafe
Ranked #656 of 2,380 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are an eco-friendly oasis in the heart of Birmingham offering some fantastic, wholesome and tasty food, which is all sourced locally, and where possible organic. The Kitchen Garden Cafe is a tranquil oasis in the heart of Kings Heath. By day our Cafe serves delicious home-cooked food, Fairly Traded coffee & tea and homemade cakes & pastries. All with a nod to local and ethical sourcing. We cater for Vegetarians, Vegans and dietary issues, just ask if you need anything not catered for on our menus. On Sunday to Wednesday evenings we host the best music acoustic music in the City, specialising in Folk, Roots and Americana. Check out the events page for our programme. On Thu-Sat evenings we host Pop-Up Restaurant events and are also available for private functions, weddings and parties.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with family, just for coffee and cake break. Coffee was decaf very nice lemon cake really enjoyed the cake. Will drop in again

Thank WestMidlandsSamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran C, General Manager at Kitchen Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Keep an eye out for more delicious cakes, we have daily options for every tatse.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

The Kitchen Garden Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Relaxed atmosphere. Lovely surroundings (even on a wet day - I imagine would be even better in the sunshine).
Food was delicious and very filling.
Great options for vegetarians. Although it was a little pricey, it was very tasty.
Did have to wait a fair while for the food and drinks, but I will definitely be back.
Nice to see a unique cafe in Kings Heath!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lt1232018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran C, General Manager at Kitchen Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We all look forward to the sunshine :)

We are really please the food was delicious and filling,apologies over the wait, we do aim to get everything out as quick as possible with the same great standards.

We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

The Kitchen Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely decoration and quirky surroundings. Hidden gem among the shops. Met my friend here and I had hot chocolate, which was delicious. I would definitely go back to try the food. Menu looks really good. Service was a bit slow to order but it was busy and drinks came out hot so can’t complain as worth the wait.

Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran C, General Manager at Kitchen Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We love the fact we are a little hidden gem and strive to meet all our customers needs. Really happy you enjoyed the Hot Chocolate, keep an eye out for the barista specials :)

We look forward to seeing you again soon

The Kitchen Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch on a weekend so it was pretty busy. However, the wait for food was ridiculous! Instead of bringing all our food at the same time they brought it in two lots. This would not have been too bad if it was in quick succession but by the time our food came, our friends had finished eating; so had to sit and wait. Frankly, the food quality was not great either. I don't think we will be returning!

Thank Asweeni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran C, General Manager at Kitchen Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Really sorry to hear this, We prepare food as soon as the checks come through to the kitchen, sometimes with multiple checks ordered at different times its a little tricky to get them all out at the same time, as people have also ordered for themselves in between, However this being said, we are always aiming to please so note taken on board.

We do hope to see you again

Kind Regards

The Kitchen Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Just off the very busy main road through Kings Heath lies an alley lined with plants and associated items, with a courtyard garden and plenty of indoor seating. Breakfasts, brunches and wider lunch choices plus home made cakes with a range of hot drinks and some real ale options. Friendly service and good value well presented meals - the accompanying salad with a sandwich had a wide range of ingredients. Parking can be tricky with York Road restricted to one hour but some shoppers car parks locally

Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran C, General Manager at Kitchen Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We can't wait for the sunshine so we can show off our gardens even more. Please join us again

Its a little gem to escape the hustle of the high street and forget where you are for a little while

We do hope to see you again soon :)

All the best

Kitchen Garden Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitchen Garden Cafe also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Kitchen Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing