We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price...of the room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good for the price...of the room.”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night to catch a flight early, Sunday morning. Having booked earlier on the day I was expecting an inflated price, however this was not the case. The room was £40(double) with out breakfast. Nothing special, just a clean room and bathroom which is what's important. The not so good was the prices of other products. I went down to the bar with my girlfriend who ordered a smirnoff Ice (£4.95) which was not TOO bad but it was the price of my double Jameson whiskey which really shook me, £11.50!!! No matter how good, had I known the price I most certainly would not have purchased it! Then off to the room we went, and feeling a bit peckish, we decided to order some room service, only pizzas and lasagne were available, with it being midnight I appreciate the fact that any hot food was available but £14.95 for a 9 inch pizza which looked like it had been brought from the £1 variety at Iceland was a bit ridiculous! We did not stay for breakfast as again the price was ludicrously high at £12.95 per person. There is a shuttle to the airport which was very helpful though which ran 2/3 times an hour. All in all it was not a bad stay and if I do need to catch an early flight again I would consider staying here, though I would advise you drink/eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear joseph y

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We currently review all of our prices regularly in line with our competitors to ensure that we are constantly offering the best prices in the area to all of our guests. Your comments on the prices from our different outlets have been passed forward to be raised at the next Pricing Review and will aid the structuring of our future prices.

Also the comments regarding the quality of your food have been raised with our Food & Beverage Manager & Executive Head Chef for their immediate review of all standards of food produced.

Once again thank you for your review and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    496
    376
    210
    171
See reviews for
222
378
91
680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We booked the Holiday Inn as we got a good deal for 1 night and were attending the LG arena for a concert so we didnt want to spend too much.
We should really have booked in at the Travel Lodge next door.
The hotel has recently been refurbished however our room was one of the old ones, very basic with the smallest bath I have ever seen. The room was cold and if we had put the heating on we would have had no sleep at all with the racket the heater was making.
The bed however was comfortable and we actually slept well.
We didnt have breakfast so cant comment on it.
The following morning we were rushed out of our room with the fire alarm going off. As we were all evacuating the hotel a number of cleaning staff were running around like headless chickens shouting for guests to get out of the hotel with what only can be described as panic !
I genuinly though there was a bomb or something the way they were carrying on.
We all made our way outside to just stand there with no one telling us what was going on. The only roll calls being done were on staff members ' forget about the guests ' we got that fed up of hanging around the car park we went and sat in our car. The poor women who had clearly been in the swimming pool prior to the alarm going off remained standing outside with a towel wrapped around her with 2 young children with no shoes on.
After the panic was sorted,we still didnt find out what had happened as the staff were talking amongst themselves in Polish, we checked out to be faced with a £7.50 car parking charge which was a joke considering the barrier was up any way due to the fire alarm.
We wont be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbycat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was staying for 4 nights so decided to upgrade to Holiday Inn - usually use Premier Inn. At £122 a night should not have bothered as I would have been better staying next door in the new Travelodge. Rooms to the left of reception are awful and badly in need of redecoration. The corridor leading to the rooms is mucky, carpets badly worn and paint work looks like it was done 20 years ago by a child. A complaint to management led to no reply. My colleague managed to get a room which was to the right of reception which had been refurbished to the standard I would have expected for a Holiday Inn. Meals and drinks were very expensive. Only redeeming factors were the shuttle bus to the NEC and the pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the right of reception - one that has been upgraded and are now called superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear HelenB22,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. However I was sad to read that you were dissatisfied with the standard and quality of your room. It also brings me concern that the Manager on Duty was not available to discuss your problems and resolve them for you.

As you may be aware the hotel is currently progressing through a refurbishment programme. The areas that you have mentioned have been forwarded onto the Maintenance Manager for immediate review and actions to ensure that these areas are brought up to standard.

Once again I apologise that you were not completely happy with all aspects of your stay and I would look forward welcoming you back to the hotel to experience our usually very high standards.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I haven't stayed in a hotel as shabby as this one anywhere - and certainly not a Holiday Inn. The carpetsare actually worn-through, the decor looks like its the original decor and appears not to have been maintained ever, and the in-room amenities advertised on their internet site (apparently) don't apply to the majority of their rooms

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experoence Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Nickg43,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I was sad to hear that you were dissatisfied with so many aspects y=of your stay and would like to discuss them further if possible.

Could you please forward comments from your stay to guestrelations@hiairport.co.uk so that I can personally look into the problems you have mentioned.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natanddaz08
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We got an excellent room rate at this hotel and thought it was spot on. We have stayed at alot of holiday inn hotels but i think this one does stand out, check in was quick efficiant and friendly and we were informed we had been upraded to a superior room. The room was first class, a good size lovely big bed and really well decorated it did not feel like a holiday inn at all as these tend to be quite samey and this was almost boutique in style. There was alittle road noise but we expected this staying on top of an international airport!

We used the pool which was very clean and had a jacuzzi, steam room and tropical rain shower however no sauna. My only complaint about the pool would be there are no chairs or loungers so you have to put your towels on the floor- prehaps some hooks on the walls would be a good idea?

Bar meals were very overpriced as usual but if you go out the hotel turn right and walk for approx 15 mins you come to a really good harvester! Breakfast at the hotel was great and much better than we have had at other holiday inns- the option to order omlettes, kippers, scrambled eggs etc was a nice touch.

Overall i would not hesitate o stay again they are doing a great job with the refurb! BTW This hotel is just a 10 min drive to drayton manor so although its an airport hotel it is ideal for this reason too!

Room Tip: rooms on the left of the corridor look towards the airport and the rooms on the right overlook the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natanddaz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear natanddaz08

I was pleased to read the positive comments you have left regarding your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is important to us at the hotel and so we have displayed them to all of our staff to ensure that they receive your positive comments on their hard work.

The points for improvement that you have noted have been taken into consideration and actions will be made based upon these. Our Leisure club is soon to be opened for public use and as part of our development of this area we will see the introduction of suitable storage for towels etc. when in the pool.

We also regularly review all of our prices in line with our competitors to ensure that we constantly have an aggressive pricing strategy in place. Your comments will be raised at the next Pricing Review.

Once again, thank you for your comments and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 km away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
1,065 reviews
1.5 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,826 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
1.5 km away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
2.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,051 - ₹ 13,970
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing