We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
233
133
53
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
133
53
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location canal view room bars and restaurants canal side mailbox car park mailbox area harvey nichols mail box afternoon tea superior room city centre mini fridge rooms are modern tesco express amazing hotel hot drinks good size
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night when visiting Birmingham at the nearby o2 arena.

Booked via booking.com so got room only for £129 room only. Parked in the Mailbox car park and couldn’t see any signage at all from the car park (the malmaison is signed), so had to trudge around the shopping Centre with our bags to find the right floor as the lift we entered in the car park didn’t go to the floor the hotel was on!

Found our way eventually and we were pleased to be able to check in a couple of hours early.

The room was clean and minimal, nice to have a fridge in the room. I’ve seen postage stamps bigger than the pillows though.

We were only in our room 5 minutes when there was a knock and the door and with no hesitation a member of staff appeared to replenish the water, luckily we weren’t mid change!!

We didn’t eat at the hotel so can’t comment on food and drink. Check out was painless and we had a good sleep, although the room was a little cold.

Nice enough stay, pretty mid range from our experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank msphbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralM129, Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear msphbucks,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am glad to hear that you had a good sleep when stopping with us, that the check-in and check-out processes were smooth, and the staff have left a good impression.
In regards to the directions from the Mailbox Car Park to the AC Hotel, please know that detailed information is offered on our website.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope you visit us again, whenever you are back in Birmingham!

Kind regards,
Marina Aurel
Front Office Manager
marina.aurel@acbirmingham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as we were attending a show in the nearby theatre. Great location in the Mailbox area with lots of bars and restaurants on our doorstep. Nice hotel with friendly helpful staff. My only criticism is what it cost, £166 a night which I thought was a bit pricey for mid week. Not really worth it. The room was very comfortable but nothing fancy.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 316nicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralM129, Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Nicola S,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us!
As you have mentioned, the AC Hotel is located in the centre of Birmingham, surrounded by several bars, restaurants and a shopping centre. I am glad to hear that the staff have made a good impression and helped brighten your stay! Please know that our hotel prices vary, depending on events happening in Birmingham, and are always aligned with other hotels in out market segment.
Thank you, once again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, whenever you are next in Birmingham!

Kind regards,
Marina Aurel
Front Office Manager
marina.aurel@acbirmingham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

The hotel is above the canals, with a pleasant stroll down the canals for restaurants, cafes and pubs. There are many dining options within walking distance and less than 10 min to the train. We stayed for 4 nights for an event at the NEC. Which is only 7 minutes by train.

The rooms are modern. With very comfortable beds and pillows. House keeping were very nice. Reasonable size bathroom. I like that Tesco express and Starbucks are close by. Very handy

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbiebain71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralM129, Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Debbiebain71,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the AC Hotel Birmingham!
I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have also used our amenities such as Starbucks!
It has been a pleasure having you with us, and we hope you visit us again whenever you are next in Birmingham!

Kind regards,
Marina Aurel
Front Office Manager
marina.aurel@acbirmingham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Central location at the Mail Box - no frills but for a business trip you don’t need fluffy bathrobes and designer soap and 60 inch TVs - friendly staff - great for a short stay will use again when in Birmingham

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank atworkbutontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralM129, Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Thesnooze,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the AC Hotel Birmingham!
I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us and that the staff have made you feel welcome.
We hope you will visit us again, whenever you are next in Birmingham!

Kind regards,
Marina Aurel
Front Office Manager
marina.aurel@acbirmingham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Enjoyed my stay here with great friendly service from front desk, to bar, to everybody else. The rooms are nice and very comfortable. I called in advance that I needed twin beds and that was arranged. The bar is a nice place to hang and stays open late. Although once it gets late the bar tender is also front desk and on one night the person didn't want to combine both functions. The hotel location is great and walking distance for food and drinks. Only negative is that the rooms aren't blocking the noise from outside very well.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank USABelgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralM129, Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear USABelgie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!
It is great to hear that you have had a good experience during your stay, and that our staff have proved their great customer service skills!
Our bar is indeed open late for our guests, and I'm happy to hear that you have enjoyed this service we provide.
The hotel is indeed located in a vibrant area of Birmingham, surrounded by bars and restaurants.
It was truly a pleasure to have had you as a guest, and we are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Kind regards,
Marina Aurel
Front Office Manager
marina.aurel@acbirmingham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews