We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a chain pub it's one of the better ones.”
Review of O'Neill's

O'Neill's
Ranked #37 of 2,475 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 14
Cuisines: Irish, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: You'll always find a warm welcome at O'Neill's in Broad Street in Birmingham. Ours is a place where you're free to go with the flow. Where great food and drink is always served with a smile. And where, no matter whether you're a regular or a newcomer, our friendly team will make you feel at home.Irish pubs are known for their hospitality – a point we love proving here at O'Neill's in Broad Street in Birmingham. We are one of the best pubs in Birmingham for Irish food, drink and atmosphere. Come and see for yourself – drop by for a bite to eat, to watch some sport, to enjoy our live music or just for the craic. Sláinte!
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Everything as expected in a chain pub but the only negative I would say is the food menu isn't exactly Irish. There's a few American style dishes, English dishes and a couple of Irish dishes. The old Colcannon and Irish sausages seemed a poor imitation. Think M&B need to up their game of this brand is to continue to be Irish.
The bar staff were good and knowledgeable and happy to chat. Once it got very busy that changed but being in the trade I'd expect nothing less of my own staff.

Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hi Will

Thank you for your review

I am pleased you found the bar staff to be pleasant. Your comments regarding where we can improve have been noted and I will pass them onto the powers that be

Kind regards

Stefan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

We are a Not For Profit Speakers Group and booked the upstairs room for a Training Day for 35 people last Sunday. We were given a choice of 2 rooms and were given a really good rate including tea and coffee.
We could not have been made more welcome by Kiera, Stefan and the staff.
Unfortunately it was the hottest day of the year!! We were really please that there were jugs of iced water and squash provided by the tea/coffee station, much appreciated. We were also given permission to help ourselves to ice all day.
We all ordered lunch on arrival in the morning to be ready for 1pm. The food was ready exactly on time and the staff had reserved a private dining area for us to eat together. The food was really good quality good value and had a great variety. The menu is easy to find online which made it easier for us to plan in advance.
I would recommend this venue for any function, meeting, or just to drop in for a meal or drink with friends.
The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the management an staff are really friendly.
We will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MishBarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hi MishBarad

Wow! What a fantastic review!! Thank you so much for your kind words.

It was a pleasure to host you & we look forward to having you again, I believe in January?

See you again soon!

Kind regards

Stefan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Went for a meal and few drinks on a Friday evening. Mark served us and was nice & pleasant and came to chat to us at our table. The food ordered was cooked perfectly (halloumi can be difficult to get right but it was perfect) the bar has a nice atmosphere and all the staff were lovely and welcoming. Recommend a visit here if you’re passing

1  Thank becciosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Becci

What a great review! Thank you so much. It means a lot when we get reviews like this, as we try very hard to deliver excellent standards & service at all times.

I will be passing your comments on to Mark & the kitchen team.

We hope to see you again soon?

Kind regards

Stefan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Popped in after a long drive to Birmingham to watch the end of the football and grab a bite to eat.

Everything I had was fine - which was Drunken Mushrooms and a Pepperoni Pizza with chips, however I'm not sure the food it quite up to the standard of 'very good' for TripAdvisor. They had a good choice of craft beers though which is a plus point.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thelight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Hi 'thelight2'

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am a little puzzled at the middle of the road rating you have given us- anything below a 4* to me represents a bad visit, which I am not sure you have had, given what you written above.

However, it is your choice how you score us and we appreciate all feedback. Unsure how we can improve, given the lack of feedback for us to improve on though.

Thanks

Stefan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Had food and a couple of ales here during my last visit to B’ham. Nice atmosphere and friendly and easygoing staff. Would definitely go back

1  Thank tucotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi tucotraveller

Thank you so much for your review.

We do hope that you will be able to make a return visit soon.

Kind regards

Emma and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Neill's also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to O'Neill's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing