We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #72 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We had 2 nights here, either side of a trip to Spain. This is a good standard airport/ business hotel with a very good pool and large bar area. They are very well geared up for large events. We got back form our trip to find the hotel rammed full. There was a convention in the hotel along with a couple of conferences and several big events at NEC. Not surprising that there was a huge queue for check-in. However, the reception desk was fully staffed and we got to our room within 10 minutes. Highly efficient. A memeber of staff brought free drinks to us whilst waiting in the queue.Very professional.

We parked at the hotel (parking package). It is the easiest access to an airport hotel we've had for a long time. Very simple to find from the M42. It was a 15 min stroll to the airport, so didn't bother with the shuttle bus (no kids with us this time... ha ha!)

Room Tip: Weight up the extra cost of exec rooms. You get free drinks and breakfast. Might be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamWhizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,649 - 4,653 of 5,560 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

I only ever stay at this hotel when I'm attending an event there.

This time round I had two separate bookings, one was for a 'Twin Hilton Deluxe' and the other was for the 'Single Guestroom'.

Both rooms are pretty identical the only difference I found was the colour scheme, Deluxe having a dark wood theme and the normal guest room being a lighter beech wood colour.

Rooms had a desk, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, 2 single beds, small dining table, office chair and another arm chair. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Both of my stays included breakfast which I would highly recommend, it is a full hot breakfast buffet with your usual beans, mushrooms, hashbrown, sausage, bacon, made to order eggs, toast, bagles, crumpets, muffins, cheese, cold meats, yogurt, fruit and lots more,

My only peeve with this hotel every time I stay is the cost for extras, it's a nice hotel but I don't believe it's worthy of the prices it charges elsewhere. Wifi is £14.95 per 24 hour period, food menu I believe is over priced too (Chips/Fries £4.00). I'm no scrooge when it comes to spending, but paying £4.00 for a bowl of chips/fries is too much in my eyes especially when ordering room service that charge £4.00 for tray service (that's £8 for chips/fries then).

If like me you don't enjoy spending money on over priced rather than quality items then the NEC (Arena), Birmingham International Train Station and Birmingham Airport are all within walking distance of the hotel. There's an exit at the back of the hotel which will lead you along a short path into the NEC which has a Starbucks (I think this is only open Monday to Friday and on event days), Subway, newsagents with sweets, newspapers, drinks, and a Wetherspoons. There is a sky walk to another part of the NEC called the Pavillion which has other eateries including a Starbucks.

From the NEC you can take the walkway to the train station which has a Coffee Shop and a Subway, and from there you can take the free air train to the airport which again has more eateries and shops.

From the hotel to the airport it takes around 10-15 minutes for an average walker to get there.

Other than the price of food in this hotel, the staff are mostly very friendly, the rooms are comfortable and it is extremely convenient if flying into Birmingham. (There's also a free shuttle bus to and from the airport/train station)

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to an exec room with access to the club lounge do it, I believe it would save you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kegan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

For me the Hilton hotels continue to go backwards, even with some of the extra service that goes with the being a Hilton Honours membership. This weeks stay was chaotic. After a busy day and a long trip from Devon I arrived at the hotel at 11.15. It took 45 minutes to check my in. Excuses were that the room owns not yet ready and the appropriate room grade was not now available. So having had to wait for 45minutes for the room I was also downgraded. The lady , Sarah who dealt with me was very good in fairness. It is standard practice then to provide such customers with a Hilton amenities pack to make good the inconvenience. This turned out to be two bottles of water?????????
Think again Hilton.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed in the Hilton Metropole, Birmingham recently to attend a convention. Booked a Twin Executive room at a discounted rate because we were attending the convention. The usual rate would have been £134 per night (approx) & we got it for £87 per night, this included breakfast.

Check in was speedy despite the masses of people. I wouldn't have said that the room was anything spectacular, 2 small single beds, dresser, tv & stand etc etc. the bathroom wasn't anything special either. Given we were in the Hilton & all that it stands for, I expected more. TV didn't work & kept cutting out. Would have expected perhaps an iPod docking station or some state of the art electronics. But instead got an radio alarm clock with an MP3 Jack lead to plug iPhone in.

Not cost effective, examples below:

2 glasses of rose wine cost £18! A pizza, with side bowl of chips & 2 blue wickeds = £30. Needless to say it was the only bit of food we ordered. Bottle of Pinot Grigo Rose Wine, 2 packets of crisps, 2 packets of nuts = £30.

£14 parking!

All in all, very expensive, wouldn't make a habit of staying in the Hilton and at least I can say I've finally stayed in the Hilton.

Not much else to say really. Not like me.

Moved over to the Holiday Inn Express on the Sunday night & were delighted, same standard of room & breakfast for £54 per room per night. It's not rocket science ;o)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed here on business , and found the hotel of a very good standard, superb facilities, and very good food.
The single room I had was ample in size, and very comfortable, I have stayed in smaller double or twin rooms in other hotels in the past.

I would definitely stay here on any future trip to the area, far better than neighbouring hotels.

Room Tip: Don't be fearful of booking a single if travelling alone - mine had a balcony, which seems to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 km away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.7 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,032 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.1 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 6,091 - ₹ 24,542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing