We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed here last Friday 15th with my girlfriend and hotel was lovely parking round corner which is subsidised (3.50) if you stay at hotel shower was lovely easy access to city centre can't seem to see why some people moan about room size its good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danmcc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    358
    132
    39
    35
See reviews for
39
424
101
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I initially choose the Bloc Hotel, because of it location, being a five minute walk for my work place (2 month stint in the area) and because of it's price. I stayed there for two months because I found the place to be fantastic.
The room are cleverly designed to maximise the space and focus on providing a extremely comfortable bed, and a luxury shower experience. So impressed with the facilities was I that i recommend them to my work collegues from out of town, who now use this hotel as their preferred accomadation while in Birmingham.
The staff are fantastic, friendly, helpful and with a genuine concern for the comfort and enjoyment of their guests.
So impressed with their wetroom shower area I am having a similiar set up installed in my own home.
Not only have I used the hotel for buisness traveI, I have used it as a location with my Wife and I to explore Birmingham, and It was perfect.
I would give this hotel a hugh thumbs up with the caviot that those booking should be aware that the size of the rooms are small.

Room Tip: I preferred a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrianharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I will pass on your kind comments onto the staff. If you find yourself back in Birmingham to stay on business or leisure then we'd be more than happy to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Compact Japanese style accommodation with good quality bedding , flat screen TV, shower and extremely comfortable bed. I have stayed several times and have not been disappointed.

Recent changes to note : they no longer do the breakfast 'bag' to take away and the price seems to have increased a bit ,although this may be seasonal, but they do still have the two tier rates, one for a room without a window and one with. There is also no tea or coffee facility in the room but there a good vending machine in the foyer.

I like it here because Jools Holland's Jam House is a few minutes walk away and there is parking outside on the street which, provided you move the car by 8 am, there no charge , unlike some of the other hotels.

Room Tip: If it doesn't phase you then the disabled rooms are bigger. Rooms with windows are £5 dearer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We like to hear comments from regular guests. You will be pleased to hear that we have found a new supplier to provide 'Breakfast to go' in the morning. Priced at £6.00 and available to order Monday - Friday mornings. You will receive an orange juice, fresh fruit salad, and a fresh croissant with jam and butter.
One thing to make sure of if you park on the street is that you are parked in the pay and display bays and not the permit holder bays otherwise you'll receive a ticket! Once again, thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here after a late business function. The hotel makes great use of small space, rooms are not big, but if you're looking at the hotel as somewhere to stay, you already know that. Given the limited space, the rooms are really well set out, have everything that you need from a hotel, and are decorated extremely well. It is also priced very well.

I would use this hotel again without doubt. Last time I stayed in Birmingham I used the Travelodge nearby, this is the polar opposite, it would be like comparing Colditz with Buckingham Palace!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VoiceOnRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Recently stayed at the hotel and it was great. The rooms are small yet stylish, with a flat screen tv and funky lighting, and they also have air conditioning which was appreciated as the small room got quite hot in the night. The bed was extremely comfortable and plenty of room for 2 adults. The bathroom was in the style of a wet room. The shower was amazing (please be careful switching it on - I didn't notice it actually came out of the ceiling as well as the shower head attached to the wall so got a little bit of a shock!). One downside to the bathroom is that there are no walls, just glass panels so you can see right in to it - could be a problem if you are sharing with a friend/like privacy. The car park is literally a 3 minute walk away and is discounted from £14.50 to £3.50 for 24hrs which is fantastic. It does take around 20 minutes to walk to the city centre but it is in a lovely part of the city so you can appreciate a small walk.

Overall, it's a great hotel for a night or 2 and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missy_flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. When the hotel opened back in April 2011 the glass panels through to the wet room were see through. After customer feedback we decided to put etching on the glass so if there were two in the room you could only view the persons head or feet in the wet room. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear that you would return to Bloc Hotel Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,360 - ₹ 6,393
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing