We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
US$ 119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 91
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 79
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 124
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 78
US$ 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 62
US$ 51
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 100
US$ 91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 119
US$ 111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 73
US$ 70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveller rating
427
390
155
47
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
390
155
47
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomjewellery quarterno windowrooms are smallcity centrevending machinewindowless roomst paul's squaremonsoon showernearby ncpjam housestorage spacecomfy bedair conshort staygreat showerbedside table
Filter
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I initially choose the Bloc Hotel, because of it location, being a five minute walk for my work place (2 month stint in the area) and because of it's price. I stayed there for two months because I found the place to be fantastic.
The room are cleverly designed to maximise the space and focus on providing a extremely comfortable bed, and a luxury shower experience. So impressed with the facilities was I that i recommend them to my work collegues from out of town, who now use this hotel as their preferred accomadation while in Birmingham.
The staff are fantastic, friendly, helpful and with a genuine concern for the comfort and enjoyment of their guests.
So impressed with their wetroom shower area I am having a similiar set up installed in my own home.
Not only have I used the hotel for buisness traveI, I have used it as a location with my Wife and I to explore Birmingham, and It was perfect.
I would give this hotel a hugh thumbs up with the caviot that those booking should be aware that the size of the rooms are small.

Room Tip: I preferred a room with a window.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adrianharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. I will pass on your kind comments onto the staff. If you find yourself back in Birmingham to stay on business or leisure then we'd be more than happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Compact Japanese style accommodation with good quality bedding , flat screen TV, shower and extremely comfortable bed. I have stayed several times and have not been disappointed.

Recent changes to note : they no longer do the breakfast 'bag' to take away and the price seems to have increased a bit ,although this may be seasonal, but they do still have the two tier rates, one for a room without a window and one with. There is also no tea or coffee facility in the room but there a good vending machine in the foyer.

I like it here because Jools Holland's Jam House is a few minutes walk away and there is parking outside on the street which, provided you move the car by 8 am, there no charge , unlike some of the other hotels.

Room Tip: If it doesn't phase you then the disabled rooms are bigger. Rooms with windows are £5 dearer
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for your review. We like to hear comments from regular guests. You will be pleased to hear that we have found a new supplier to provide 'Breakfast to go' in the morning. Priced at £6.00 and available to order Monday - Friday mornings. You will receive an orange juice, fresh fruit salad, and a fresh croissant with jam and butter.
One thing to make sure of if you park on the street is that you are parked in the pay and display bays and not the permit holder bays otherwise you'll receive a ticket! Once again, thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here after a late business function. The hotel makes great use of small space, rooms are not big, but if you're looking at the hotel as somewhere to stay, you already know that. Given the limited space, the rooms are really well set out, have everything that you need from a hotel, and are decorated extremely well. It is also priced very well.

I would use this hotel again without doubt. Last time I stayed in Birmingham I used the Travelodge nearby, this is the polar opposite, it would be like comparing Colditz with Buckingham Palace!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VoiceOnRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Recently stayed at the hotel and it was great. The rooms are small yet stylish, with a flat screen tv and funky lighting, and they also have air conditioning which was appreciated as the small room got quite hot in the night. The bed was extremely comfortable and plenty of room for 2 adults. The bathroom was in the style of a wet room. The shower was amazing (please be careful switching it on - I didn't notice it actually came out of the ceiling as well as the shower head attached to the wall so got a little bit of a shock!). One downside to the bathroom is that there are no walls, just glass panels so you can see right in to it - could be a problem if you are sharing with a friend/like privacy. The car park is literally a 3 minute walk away and is discounted from £14.50 to £3.50 for 24hrs which is fantastic. It does take around 20 minutes to walk to the city centre but it is in a lovely part of the city so you can appreciate a small walk.

Overall, it's a great hotel for a night or 2 and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missy_flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. When the hotel opened back in April 2011 the glass panels through to the wet room were see through. After customer feedback we decided to put etching on the glass so if there were two in the room you could only view the persons head or feet in the wet room. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear that you would return to Bloc Hotel Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Bloc Hotel is a very new hotel that focuses a lot on a stylish furniture in a quarter that seems to be a trendy one, too. But to be honest, it is a bit off; to the city centre it takes you about 20 minutes to walk. The rooms are new, but a bit tiny. Though they designed it very cosy, as the bed stands in a niche by the window (if you have a room with a window) with the TV on the wall in front of you - very british ;)
The bathroom is very tiny too and especially the shower is quite near to the toilet and not separated from the other stuff in it, so if you take a shower, the toilet and sink will take one, too. It looks nice though, you only have to get used to a principle that I only know from Asian hotels so far.

Unfortunately the air conditioning didn't work in our room, which we recognized quite late. The staff had a looked at it and quickly gave us another adequate room. So they handled the problem quite well. As it was not that expensive and quite clean, i would recommend the hotel, but you have to mention that it's tiny and a bit off.

Room Tip: Pay the £6 or whatever and get a window room
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank exilmonmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm pleased to hear that the staff handled the situation with your air con quickly, efficiently and in an appropriate manner. Thanks, once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews