We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
US$ 115
US$ 112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 83
US$ 68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 120
US$ 99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 179
US$ 146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 223
US$ 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
424
388
153
47
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
388
153
47
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomjewellery quarterno windowrooms are smallcity centrevending machinewindowless roomst paul's squaremonsoon showernearby ncpjam housestorage spacecomfy bedair conshort staygreat showerbedside table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
897 - 902 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I think you'll either like this or hate it. Yes, it is well located, yes, it is cheap (£40 a night for me). Yes, the rooms are small but on the face of it nicely appointed.

However - the quality of some fixtures and fittings lets it down badly. A very cheap plastic toilet seat which was falling off badly. No instructions on how to operate the shower - particularly no indication of the hot or cold setting which I thought was now illegal. Everything gets wet in the bathroom, even the toilet roll. The shower door was hanging badly so scraped along the floor. There was no soap provided, just two shampoo sachets.

The worst thing for me however was the noise. There's a fan in the windowless rooms which runs constantly but as other reviewers have noted, footsteps, conversation and doors opening and closing are very intrustive.

I stayed in an IBIS recently for £20 (admittedly an unusually low price) but if I had a choice between Bloc and an IBIS at £40 I'd personally choose the IBIS every time. That's a shame, because on the face of it Bloc looks nice, but in the current incarnation it doesn't work for me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your review. I suppose you could say the hotel can be described as 'Marmite'. You'll either love the concept or hate it.
Thank you for bringing these matters of maintenance to my attention, I hope this was mentioned to reception so that they could fix the problems in your room or indeed change you to another room. I will also be speaking with housekeeping to see why this room was given to reception when clearly there was maintenance issues to be fixed.
We do not provide soap in the room as the product provided is a dual purpose product for hand, body and hair.
I'm sorry to hear that the concept did not work for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

One night stay at hotel and really impressed. Room very compact and up to date, and clean. Bed was extremely comfi. For the prices charged, this is extremely good value for money. Also, car parking discount provided working out at £3.50 which was brilliant. Close to local pubs and restaurants, and near to the shops.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable hotel. We stayed in a wheelchair accessible room. The bed is large and comfortable. The room would have benefitted from a chair and a few more hooks. The fact that there wasn't a window wasn't a big issue. The only issue was with the bathroom. There was nowhere to leave you toiletries when having a shower. Water from the shower spread all over the floor so that you were always walking through it. There was no mirror above the sink where you shaved. No soap supplied to wash hands after using toilet.
We were under no illusions at these prices, that at the weekend the hotel would be popular with the party animals, so earplugs are a must if you are a light sleeper.
This may seem like a negative review, but we found the hotel extremely good and it would be excellent with attention to the little details.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thealemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you had no soap in the room, as this should have been in the room on arrival. Hopefully you mentioned this to reception so they got it replaced. A chair may not be provided in the room however you should have found a Bloc stool which is stored underneath the bedside table. In the accessible rooms we provide two sinks. One has a mirror above it and the other does not. I suppose it depends which sink you choose to use. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback. Hopefully we can get these points addressed so as to meet your expectations in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel after a night out at the Hippdrome Theatre. The hotel is located in a lovely part of the city that we hadn't explored before. Easily walkable into the city centre. We are able to park in the nearby NCP car park at a discounted rate of £3.50 for 24 hours with a ticket given to us by the staff on reception at the hotel. The room was small but had everything you needed. Exceptionally clean and modern. If you are looking for a good value hotel in the centre of Birmingham I would certainly recommend Bloc Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Short but sweet, thank you. Hope you had a good time at the Hippodrome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is very central for Birmingham.As others have said this is modern hotel with all state of the art electronics,lighting television etc.The rooms are comparativly small but the bed was very confortable and the linen and duvet very high quality.I had a room with a window which cost a little more but it could have been a bit oppresive without.Its near St Pauls square in the Jewellery quarter.The area is very quaint but with lots of pubs restaurants and bars near by.The shower and toilet and all in one and the water went everywhere.Never the less very powerful shower and again excellent quality.There are no specific wardrobes or draws just hooks near the door to hang clothes.For an overnight near the centre of Birmingham with good quality and a fair price this is great.The staff were very helpful and pointed me to cheap parking at the NCP in St Pauls square (£3.50 for 24 hours),which was something of a bargain from what i've paid before in Birmingham and other big cities.Overall excellent for what it is.

Room Tip: I would book a room with a window which are called superior
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We try our best to impress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews