We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed one night here and we loved our room. We were a little worried about the size of the room before arrival but quickly realised the quality of fittings & room overall made up for it. The only negative was the shower as it soaks the whole wetroom including toilet & toilet roll so you had to mop up with the towels after if you wanted to use the sink & toilet afterwards. Also there are no mirrors in the room itself (only the wetroom so its quite dark to do make-up etc.) Bed was large & comfortable & tv had freeview channels. Location was a bit out of town but within walking distance I'd say (10-15 mins?). Overall we would definitely stay here again & recommend to anyone looking for a quality budget hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with a window (211) but think it would have been ok without. Surrounding roads seem q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsthomas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review. Hope you come back to stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    356
    131
    39
    35
See reviews for
39
421
101
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I think you'll either like this or hate it. Yes, it is well located, yes, it is cheap (£40 a night for me). Yes, the rooms are small but on the face of it nicely appointed.

However - the quality of some fixtures and fittings lets it down badly. A very cheap plastic toilet seat which was falling off badly. No instructions on how to operate the shower - particularly no indication of the hot or cold setting which I thought was now illegal. Everything gets wet in the bathroom, even the toilet roll. The shower door was hanging badly so scraped along the floor. There was no soap provided, just two shampoo sachets.

The worst thing for me however was the noise. There's a fan in the windowless rooms which runs constantly but as other reviewers have noted, footsteps, conversation and doors opening and closing are very intrustive.

I stayed in an IBIS recently for £20 (admittedly an unusually low price) but if I had a choice between Bloc and an IBIS at £40 I'd personally choose the IBIS every time. That's a shame, because on the face of it Bloc looks nice, but in the current incarnation it doesn't work for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your review. I suppose you could say the hotel can be described as 'Marmite'. You'll either love the concept or hate it.
Thank you for bringing these matters of maintenance to my attention, I hope this was mentioned to reception so that they could fix the problems in your room or indeed change you to another room. I will also be speaking with housekeeping to see why this room was given to reception when clearly there was maintenance issues to be fixed.
We do not provide soap in the room as the product provided is a dual purpose product for hand, body and hair.
I'm sorry to hear that the concept did not work for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

One night stay at hotel and really impressed. Room very compact and up to date, and clean. Bed was extremely comfi. For the prices charged, this is extremely good value for money. Also, car parking discount provided working out at £3.50 which was brilliant. Close to local pubs and restaurants, and near to the shops.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable hotel. We stayed in a wheelchair accessible room. The bed is large and comfortable. The room would have benefitted from a chair and a few more hooks. The fact that there wasn't a window wasn't a big issue. The only issue was with the bathroom. There was nowhere to leave you toiletries when having a shower. Water from the shower spread all over the floor so that you were always walking through it. There was no mirror above the sink where you shaved. No soap supplied to wash hands after using toilet.
We were under no illusions at these prices, that at the weekend the hotel would be popular with the party animals, so earplugs are a must if you are a light sleeper.
This may seem like a negative review, but we found the hotel extremely good and it would be excellent with attention to the little details.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thealemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you had no soap in the room, as this should have been in the room on arrival. Hopefully you mentioned this to reception so they got it replaced. A chair may not be provided in the room however you should have found a Bloc stool which is stored underneath the bedside table. In the accessible rooms we provide two sinks. One has a mirror above it and the other does not. I suppose it depends which sink you choose to use. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback. Hopefully we can get these points addressed so as to meet your expectations in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel after a night out at the Hippdrome Theatre. The hotel is located in a lovely part of the city that we hadn't explored before. Easily walkable into the city centre. We are able to park in the nearby NCP car park at a discounted rate of £3.50 for 24 hours with a ticket given to us by the staff on reception at the hotel. The room was small but had everything you needed. Exceptionally clean and modern. If you are looking for a good value hotel in the centre of Birmingham I would certainly recommend Bloc Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Short but sweet, thank you. Hope you had a good time at the Hippodrome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,453 - ₹ 7,832
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing