We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
443
405
166
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
405
166
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomjewellery quarterno windowrooms are smallcity centrevending machinewindowless roomst paul's squaremonsoon showernearby ncpjam housestorage spacecomfy bedair conshort staybedside tablegreat shower
Filter
Updating list...
952 - 957 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable hotel. We stayed in a wheelchair accessible room. The bed is large and comfortable. The room would have benefitted from a chair and a few more hooks. The fact that there wasn't a window wasn't a big issue. The only issue was with the bathroom. There was nowhere to leave you toiletries when having a shower. Water from the shower spread all over the floor so that you were always walking through it. There was no mirror above the sink where you shaved. No soap supplied to wash hands after using toilet.
We were under no illusions at these prices, that at the weekend the hotel would be popular with the party animals, so earplugs are a must if you are a light sleeper.
This may seem like a negative review, but we found the hotel extremely good and it would be excellent with attention to the little details.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thealemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you had no soap in the room, as this should have been in the room on arrival. Hopefully you mentioned this to reception so they got it replaced. A chair may not be provided in the room however you should have found a Bloc stool which is stored underneath the bedside table. In the accessible rooms we provide two sinks. One has a mirror above it and the other does not. I suppose it depends which sink you choose to use. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback. Hopefully we can get these points addressed so as to meet your expectations in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel after a night out at the Hippdrome Theatre. The hotel is located in a lovely part of the city that we hadn't explored before. Easily walkable into the city centre. We are able to park in the nearby NCP car park at a discounted rate of £3.50 for 24 hours with a ticket given to us by the staff on reception at the hotel. The room was small but had everything you needed. Exceptionally clean and modern. If you are looking for a good value hotel in the centre of Birmingham I would certainly recommend Bloc Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Short but sweet, thank you. Hope you had a good time at the Hippodrome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is very central for Birmingham.As others have said this is modern hotel with all state of the art electronics,lighting television etc.The rooms are comparativly small but the bed was very confortable and the linen and duvet very high quality.I had a room with a window which cost a little more but it could have been a bit oppresive without.Its near St Pauls square in the Jewellery quarter.The area is very quaint but with lots of pubs restaurants and bars near by.The shower and toilet and all in one and the water went everywhere.Never the less very powerful shower and again excellent quality.There are no specific wardrobes or draws just hooks near the door to hang clothes.For an overnight near the centre of Birmingham with good quality and a fair price this is great.The staff were very helpful and pointed me to cheap parking at the NCP in St Pauls square (£3.50 for 24 hours),which was something of a bargain from what i've paid before in Birmingham and other big cities.Overall excellent for what it is.

Room Tip: I would book a room with a window which are called superior
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We try our best to impress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed a night at the Bloc Hotel after spending the day shopping in Birmingham and going for a meal in the mailbox to make a proper day of it. We had scouted around for what seemed to be a clean, modern hotel for a decent price near enough the city centre and what we found was even better than we had expected!

The hotel itself is a 5 minute walk from the Bull Ring Shopping centre and around 10 - 15 from Broad street so perfect for all kinds of tourists.

From the outside it doesn't look much but as soon as you walk in you know its a very quirky and up and coming hotel with the low seated chairs and very minimalist approach.

Check in was easy and the staff at front of house were very warm and welcoming and nothing was a bother at all (we had trouble working the showers, definitely a problem on our part not the hotels!)

The room themselves do what they say on the tin. No wardrobe but a brilliant, large double bed with possibly the comfiest mattress i've ever slept on. A massive flat screen tv built into the wall is provided with freeveiw, could not ask for any more!

The bathroom makes the room, with the option of a normal powershower or turning the bathroom into a wet room which i could not say no to! Soaps and shampoo are provided along with bath towels and hand towels as well as extra pillows under the bed.

The clever use of mirroring in the room also helped maximise the potential size of the room.

Did not have any problem with noise throughout the night due to extensive soundproofing of the rooms.

All in all I would go as far to say that i would choose this hotel over any in Birmingham for a one night stop off running to a few nights stay on buisness. However, the lack of food other than a few vending machines would mean it is probably not a hotel suitable for a week long stay if for some reason Birmingham is the place you'd travel!

Room Tip: The window would make very little difference. Had a choice of mood lighting without!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jch_348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Really liked this place, room not big but comfortable double bed, good quality bedding and towels, great shower and all spotlessly clean and very stylish, if you like fuss free minimalism, which I do. Staff very friendly and very close to good pubs and restaurants. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I went for a window in room and was still very cheap.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Penthouse Proposition, Pavement Price, thats Bloc Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews