We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but lacking on the finer points.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very good but lacking on the finer points.”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable hotel. We stayed in a wheelchair accessible room. The bed is large and comfortable. The room would have benefitted from a chair and a few more hooks. The fact that there wasn't a window wasn't a big issue. The only issue was with the bathroom. There was nowhere to leave you toiletries when having a shower. Water from the shower spread all over the floor so that you were always walking through it. There was no mirror above the sink where you shaved. No soap supplied to wash hands after using toilet.
We were under no illusions at these prices, that at the weekend the hotel would be popular with the party animals, so earplugs are a must if you are a light sleeper.
This may seem like a negative review, but we found the hotel extremely good and it would be excellent with attention to the little details.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thealemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you had no soap in the room, as this should have been in the room on arrival. Hopefully you mentioned this to reception so they got it replaced. A chair may not be provided in the room however you should have found a Bloc stool which is stored underneath the bedside table. In the accessible rooms we provide two sinks. One has a mirror above it and the other does not. I suppose it depends which sink you choose to use. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback. Hopefully we can get these points addressed so as to meet your expectations in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    361
    133
    39
    36
See reviews for
39
430
101
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel after a night out at the Hippdrome Theatre. The hotel is located in a lovely part of the city that we hadn't explored before. Easily walkable into the city centre. We are able to park in the nearby NCP car park at a discounted rate of £3.50 for 24 hours with a ticket given to us by the staff on reception at the hotel. The room was small but had everything you needed. Exceptionally clean and modern. If you are looking for a good value hotel in the centre of Birmingham I would certainly recommend Bloc Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Short but sweet, thank you. Hope you had a good time at the Hippodrome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwal Uk
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is very central for Birmingham.As others have said this is modern hotel with all state of the art electronics,lighting television etc.The rooms are comparativly small but the bed was very confortable and the linen and duvet very high quality.I had a room with a window which cost a little more but it could have been a bit oppresive without.Its near St Pauls square in the Jewellery quarter.The area is very quaint but with lots of pubs restaurants and bars near by.The shower and toilet and all in one and the water went everywhere.Never the less very powerful shower and again excellent quality.There are no specific wardrobes or draws just hooks near the door to hang clothes.For an overnight near the centre of Birmingham with good quality and a fair price this is great.The staff were very helpful and pointed me to cheap parking at the NCP in St Pauls square (£3.50 for 24 hours),which was something of a bargain from what i've paid before in Birmingham and other big cities.Overall excellent for what it is.

Room Tip: I would book a room with a window which are called superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We try our best to impress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed a night at the Bloc Hotel after spending the day shopping in Birmingham and going for a meal in the mailbox to make a proper day of it. We had scouted around for what seemed to be a clean, modern hotel for a decent price near enough the city centre and what we found was even better than we had expected!

The hotel itself is a 5 minute walk from the Bull Ring Shopping centre and around 10 - 15 from Broad street so perfect for all kinds of tourists.

From the outside it doesn't look much but as soon as you walk in you know its a very quirky and up and coming hotel with the low seated chairs and very minimalist approach.

Check in was easy and the staff at front of house were very warm and welcoming and nothing was a bother at all (we had trouble working the showers, definitely a problem on our part not the hotels!)

The room themselves do what they say on the tin. No wardrobe but a brilliant, large double bed with possibly the comfiest mattress i've ever slept on. A massive flat screen tv built into the wall is provided with freeveiw, could not ask for any more!

The bathroom makes the room, with the option of a normal powershower or turning the bathroom into a wet room which i could not say no to! Soaps and shampoo are provided along with bath towels and hand towels as well as extra pillows under the bed.

The clever use of mirroring in the room also helped maximise the potential size of the room.

Did not have any problem with noise throughout the night due to extensive soundproofing of the rooms.

All in all I would go as far to say that i would choose this hotel over any in Birmingham for a one night stop off running to a few nights stay on buisness. However, the lack of food other than a few vending machines would mean it is probably not a hotel suitable for a week long stay if for some reason Birmingham is the place you'd travel!

Room Tip: The window would make very little difference. Had a choice of mood lighting without!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jch_348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Really liked this place, room not big but comfortable double bed, good quality bedding and towels, great shower and all spotlessly clean and very stylish, if you like fuss free minimalism, which I do. Staff very friendly and very close to good pubs and restaurants. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I went for a window in room and was still very cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Penthouse Proposition, Pavement Price, thats Bloc Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,086 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
2,411 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,936 - ₹ 6,039
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing