We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one or two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Ranked #48 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Location: The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Birmingham Arena and the Sealife Centre. It’s also well positioned for the Christmas Market. Access to the underground car park is via a ramp with an automatic door. The access is very, very tight and my wife got out the car to guide me through the sharp turn where the entrance barrier is situated. The exit is just as tight. There is no lift from the underground car park to reception. Check in and out was efficient.
Room: The rooms are somewhat dated but perfectly adequate for one or two nights. The bed was comfortable but our room was a little dusty, especially around the bed area.
Breakfast: The buffet style breakfast was good with a wide variety of cereals and the usual options for a fried breakfast. Gluten free bread was available and the staff were friendly and efficient.
If you want a base to shop or go to a concert this hotel is ideal. There are many restaurants within a short distance. The car park fee was £15 for 24 hours when we visited so we left the car after we checked out to shop and paid at reception later in the day.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hadrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have noted your comments with regards to the dust in your room, please accept my sincere apologies. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

You don’t book Novotel expecting atmosphere so the lack of it was not disappointing. You do expect efficient check in, clean efficient decor, a decent sized spotless bedroom with a comfortable bed and a shower that works. That is what you get at the City Centre Novotel.

The restaurant menu was very unexciting but breakfast was good.

Good for business travel but I wouldn’t choose it for a romantic weekend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank jvr679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RJS59
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Novotel Birmingham was a standard hotel. I expected a little more for my money, if I am honest.
The downstairs of the hotel is all modern, fresh and clean looking.
As you go up to the rooms, this changes. I would say the bedrooms are 3 out of 5.
The bed was big and clean. The carpets in the room and hallway were not so good.
The whole room felt a little tired for the money it cost.
Also very disappointed that breakfast was not included in room price. £13+ is a little too much for a single breakfast also.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your review I am so sorry to hear that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you had experienced with the quality of your room. I would really like the opportunity to speak with you about this on the phone. so that I can resolve to your satisfaction. the best number to reach me on is 0121 643 2000
Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Stayed here before, this hotel is situated within the centre of Birmingham and I was here for a training course the next day.

The hotel was of good standard, well maintained and clean. Nothing special and nothing bad. A corporate city centre hotel. Added bonus was underground parking which was inexpensive for a city centre.

Limited options for food and drink, but what I did have was fine.

I would stay here again if I had to stay City Centre.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dockda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian_Dick, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards, Ian Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,353 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#28 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 4,998 - ₹ 10,933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting at Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Accorhotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing