We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT LUXURY AS CLAIMED ON THEIR WEBSITE”
Review of City Nites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Nites
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“NOT LUXURY AS CLAIMED ON THEIR WEBSITE”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

First impressions were good as the location was great- just at the back of brindleyplace, a 2 min walk to Broad Street. Staff were really pleasant and explained everything well at check in but other than that not a great place to stay. The apartments are described as luxury- they are more like the travelodge of apartments or dare I say even worse. The bed was uncomfortable- 2 singles pushed together and very small uncomfortable fake leather sofas. 2 thin pillows and a thin duvet. No extra pillows or blankets as you would get in a luxury hotel. Filthy carpets, dirty cushions, mismatched curtains, and no blinds in the bathroom!!! Worse thing had to be the light from the car park shining through the window all night thanks to the extremly cheap thin curtains. We paid for a late check out and were disturbed by clueless staff three time. Once to be asked what time are you checking out (surely they should have noted this when we checked in) and then again by 2 girls come to clean the apartment. I would not suggest staying here there are other apartments in and around the city centre which are much better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    185
    56
    36
    52
See reviews for
88
182
28
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We booked in here for one night - was a good find. It is centrally located - you can walk along the canal to the Mail Box and Brindley Place. It is only about 15 mins from New Street. Check in was easy - the only issue was that we had not been made aware of the deposit that was required - £250. Car parking was easily arranged - and secure. The apartment was well laid out and had everything we needed. We decided to cook our own dinner - found the kitchen to be well equipped. The bedroom was fine - could have done with some extra pillows - perhaps you can ask in reception? All in all, a great place to stay in the centre of Birmingham - very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Good for the price paid. Very noisy at night, from both the street and other guests returning to rooms late. Apart from this it was in a good location for bars and shops with secure parking (£10 a night extra) kitchen was quite well equipped and tea, coffee etc provided.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLouIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

me and 4 friends travelled to Birmingham and stayed at the City Nites - it was in the perfect location right next door to the NIA which is were our concert was based, however our experience here in one word was "awful" - a few of the other reviews state that the staff do not speak fluent English - this is correct - trying to get hold of a manager was a no, no.
we were attending a concert which started at 7pm at the NIA and arrived at 5pm, when i made my booking we requested a room with a balcony for medical reasons, i had made my booking 3months in advance and requested special requirements. Although they did say that they can not guarantee this but due to the advance booking stated it should be fine, when we arrived to our room there was no balcony and the windows didn’t have any openings for ventilation and also other requests i had required were not met, i contacted reception only to be cut off 6 times - by this time it was 6 o'clock leaving 5 girls to get ready. eventually after 35mins we was able to swap rooms, however although the room we moved to had a balcony it had not been cleaned from when the pervious guest left!!! The smell was awful, we was running out of time as we only had 30mins to get ready for our big night. City Nites offered to clean the apartment whilst we were getting ready and sent cleaners up, the cleaners cleaned changed the bedding etc and left, whilst we were still inside the apartments, after a massive rush we went to the concert and had a great time!! only then to arrive back at the apartment to find that some of our items have been stolen.
Money, Cigarettes, food/drinks out of the fridge, jewellery, perfume – we was all really gutted, I contacted reception and got no answer, i went down to reception but it was all locked up ( 11.30pm). the next morning when we checked out i had made a complaint to the lady behind the desk when i asked to speak with the manager she said she was not in and back on Monday (this was Sunday) i had requested for the manager to contact me urgently as we were travelling back home. Monday 1pm - no call from the manager so i contacted - manager in a meeting, 3 hours later – contacted again still manager in meeting - i then thought ok i will put my complaint in writing via email which i did - 20mins letter a response from the manager stating this: "I have spoken to the members of staff on duty at the time and can confirm that the £100 smoking fee is standard and will not be refunded as per our terms and conditions handed to you at check in.

With regards to items being stolen out of your apartment, We do have a very honest and professional team of housekeepers and have never had an instance where items have gone missing out of apartments previous to this. Please note items are left at your own risk. Unfortunately due to lack of evidence I am unable to investigate this matter further for you" -
Of course i'm like what - i cant believe this.
Smoking fee???? no smoking took place inside the apartment – if that was the case when we checked out we should of been advised at that stage by the lady behind the desk that we was being charged a smoking fee that way i could of questioned this whilst i was there - it makes me think, if i hadn’t of complained about my items that were stolen then would they of mentioned a smoking fee to me??, my honest feelings towards this is that they charged us for something that didn’t not even happen and i feel like we was scammed not only that she stated that there was not enough evidence yet she had responded back to my email after 20mins to say NO evidence - where is the customer service in that or what has she done to reassure me that there is NO evidence. i requested that the CCTV cameras are checked before she states no evidence as i noticed a camera outside the apartment. 2days lateer, yes we have checked the camera and we can not see any unauthorised people entering this room????
in the end the manager offered us £100.00 compensation - yet charged us £100.00 smoking fee so in theory we got nothing just robbed. when i asked about evidence of us smoking in the building she said her staff are honest and reliable - what does that mean for the customer.
this was my overall experience and i can honestly say i will not ever go back there, the thought of someone/people going through my personal belongings stealing food/drinks that we had bought for our night, it was an experience i just do not wish anyone else have to experience. so please take my advice and do not book here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Don't be fooled by their website. Apartments are very cheaply finished and of poor quality. They are clean and resonably well equipped but sterile and univiting. I guess if there are four people staying in B'ham for a few days they represent quite good value, but otherwise I would not bother again. Staff are fine but the building is very "industrial" in look and feel and the decking on 1st floor was green and slimy and very slippery underfoot.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stjSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,681 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Nites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Nites

Property: City Nites
Address: Arena View | Edward Street, Birmingham B1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,680 - ₹ 12,071
Hotel Class:4 star — City Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Specialists in serviced accommodation, we are your fabulous alternative to a hotel! We provide short and long stay suites for both leisure and business travelers who want more from their stay in Birmingham. With up to 3 times more space than the average hotel room, our guests can enjoy spacious, comfortable, well-managed accommodation in the heart of the City Centre, across the road from the ICC, Library of Birmingham, Barclaycard Arena (NIA) & a 5 minute-walk from Brindley Place, Broad Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing