We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They battled on and deserve your support.”
Review of Soda Bread Cafe

Soda Bread Cafe
Ranked #98 of 339 Quick Bites in Birmingham
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Reviewed 28 May 2021

Reinvented during lockdowns more as an old fashioned corner food store supplying the locals with essentials. Simple things like top quality bread and basics such as milk, eggs and flour helped support the area when all else had to shut.
Now coming back into itself as a cafe etc but remains a place to cherish.
Friendly and hard working staff make this one a true gem in the Jewellery Quarter.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2021

Visited the Jewellery Quarter today and used the Soda Cafe for a coffee and banquette. Food was very nice, lots of locals using cafe too. Would recommend. Sat outside and watched the world go by.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank I4355QValanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2021 via mobile

was lovely morning until i reached to this establishment.... i was not happy with my chai latte, which i was told was an authentic indian latte!!!!
have never had anything like it in my life ... was more a tea than latte ...
i then proceeded to wait as it has a one in one out system, i was then called in where i explained i would either like to change my drink or receive a refund, to then be told it’s authentic & i would definitely not be getting a refund (her words) i chose other products & proceeded to leave to then be verbally abused by a customer who said i was wasting time. Absolutely disgusting customer service & would never come here again

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank carlymG8985TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

This place seems popular and I’ve always wanted to check it out. I ordered a fish finger sandwich and it was delicious. Exactly what you’d hope for! The staff were friendly. Minor negative was there was a short wait on food but it was lunchtime I guess.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank 620AlisonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

Didn’t expect to be in lockdown review mode again but.......anyway Soda Bread back to takeaway mode and essential item shop. A lifesaver and it sells the best bread. Support your local independents if you can. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soda Bread Cafe also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Soda Bread Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.