We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
173
91
26
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
91
26
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holliday street hd channels stayed here new street station large shower usb sockets inclusive breakfast city centre the breakfast area breakfast was included hot and cold options first floor would definitely stay here again minute walk good sized rooms cooked items comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2019

Checked in on Friday and the hotel room was nice and clean and smelt good, we thought we would go out for the evening and asked reception to book us a taxi (big mistake), waited 25 minutes for a dirty car to turn up and when we got inside it, absolutely stunk of cigarettes. Our journey was under a mile yet the driver said their minimum fare was £10.00.
Hotel is great but your taxi arrangement are shoddy, told the receptionist when we came back and nothing was ever done about it

Room tip: Don't rely on the reception staff to book you a taxi, make prior arrangements
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hills1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, hills1973!

Thank you for choosing us among the lodging options you have in the area and your feedback.

It is great to know that you liked the overall value of our pricing and upkeep of the hotel and room. I am sorry that you were let down by the experience you had with the service taxi. I shared your thoughts with our local ownership for their reference. I am confident that your comments will be used as we continue finding ways of improving our guests' way of stay.

As we continue to become better, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Many thanks,

Anne A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

We stayed on a Friday night and wanted something cheap and cheerful and were more than impressed! Great value, great location and exceptionally clean! The breakfast was very good and I would definately recommend for a good value city stay

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019

Ideally located, no fuss, comfortable and welcoming. Rooms are big enough for the purpose and very clean, modern and comfortable. Perfect for a short stay and a very streamlined service. Very good value for money and will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GordonA814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019

Stayed there for 1 night over weekend recently. The hotel is very close to the city centre.
Loads of restaurants and bars & shopping close by. It is a new hotel. Check in was easy. The staff were not too friendly. The room was very comfortable. The toilet had a very big shower with plenty towels. No fridge in the room. The breakfast was ok.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2019

Although the room is very modern and clean and fairly comfortable, it still has a few things to consider to 'up' its game. There needs to be a plug socket near to the mirror where the hair dryer is. The shower door needs to be flush with the shower tray to prevent a flood on the bathroom floor. Breakfast was very disappointing. 'hot' items include ONLY scrambled egg, bacon, sausage and baked beans. None of the cooked items were hot, not even warm. Temperatures at the server need to be monitored to ensue food is piping hot at all times. Will NOT be staying here again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lepetitanglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello lepetitanglais,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. While I am glad that you found the hotel clean and modern, and I am sorry to learn about your disappointment due to some amenities missing in the room received. Along with your observations about your breakfast experience, I have shared your comments with the hotel management. We'll surely use these as a reference to improve the services offered. I trust that steps taken will improve your next stays with us.

I hope you change your mind and give us another try!

Best regards,

Clayton G.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews