We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in one of the penthouse suites as a base to visit the Gadget Show this year. A fantastic location with a great choice of shops and restaurants within a stone's throw of the Rotunda (the family favourites were Jamie's Italian and Handmade Burger). Staff are very friendly and quick to help out when you need help and advice. The only problem with a minimalist decor is that it has to be spanking clean....grubby marks on the doors and carpets are immediately obvious and the suite did look a bit tired in places (and the toilet in the second bathroom was a bit crusty). Overall though we were very pleased with the facilities....juicer, coffee maker, washing machine, comfortable beds, plenty of toiletries, Sky tv etc...and it was very quiet...we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear PercyP,

I'm very pleased that you plan to stay with us again, but concerned that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay especially the housekeeping aspect of things. We aim to have our apartments and bathrooms shining like a new pin for guests and I am sorry that we didn't achieve this in your case. We're also midway through a full scale painting and repairs programme so the issues you mentioned won't be there for future guests.

When you make your next booking, please email me in advance (tracey@stayingcool.com) so I can personally look after you.

Tracey
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Staying Cool at the Rotunda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 797 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Do not hesitate to stay here! We stayed in the 1 bed maxi room. Very spacious, clean and modern decor. We made full use of the kitchen gadgets and even more use of the mini mac computer with its access to spotify music service.

Nice comfy memory foam mattresses ensured we had a good night sleep. The floor to ceiling window doors that slide fully open was an experience! and the views across the city was amazing...just a shame it was overcast for our stay.

Location couldn't of been anymore central with easy access to shops, restaurants, bars and transport.

Our stay here was topped off with a wicked Cirque du Soleil show at the NIA.

Cannot recommend highly enough and will definitely be staying again if possible :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Thank you so much for your review - it certainly put big smiles on our faces when we read it.

We hope that you can come back soon too. Hopefully, the weather will behave itself on your next visit!

Tracey
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Booking a Clubman apartment online, via the Staying Cool website, was very straightforward and a confirmation e-mail contained everything that we needed to know about our upcoming stay.
Check-in was quick and easy and the staff were pleasant and welcoming. To our surprise (and great delight!) we had been given a free upgrade to a Roadster Penthouse!
Despite having seen the photos and read countless reviews before our stay, nothing could have prepared us for the Penthouse apartment. All I can say is WOW! Everything about it was wonderful! The floor to ceiling windows provided magnificent views over Birmingham and the open air balcony was amazing (although not for those scared of heights). We found the apartment to be extremely well equipped - thick fluffy towels and bathrobes, lovely toiletries in the bathrooms (yes there were 2 of them!), milk in the fridge, fresh oranges for the juicer, cereals, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, dishwasher tablets and even cloths and a tea towel. The only things we needed to buy for ourselves were a bottle of washing up liquid (as we preferred to wash up in the sink) and some bread and butter to make toast in the morning. We had the use of an Apple Mac in one bedroom (although unfortunately we found the Wi-Fi to be a bit hit and miss) and a Bose i-Pod dock in the other, with Sky TV in the living area. The bed was super comfy and the blackout curtains were welcome in the bedroom (we didn’t bother to close the ones in the living area as the view was just too gorgeous!). Above all, the apartment was spacious, clean, comfortable and very, very cool!
The Rotunda has the advantage of being just a few minutes’ walk from Birmingham New Street Station and is right next to the Bullring Centre for shopping and eating out. It was also perfect for visiting the NEC, which was a 10 – 15 minute train ride from New Street to International.
We had the most amazing time at ‘Staying Cool’ and were sorry to leave the Penthouse behind! If you’re looking for somewhere special, don’t hesitate to book an apartment here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Guest Relations Manager at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Hello CumbriaMichelle

Thank you for posting such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. I remember you saying on check out that you had had a fantastic stay but it is always great to see it in print too.

Reading about how we exceeded your expectations is just the sort of thing that I love about my job and why I chose to work at Staying Cool. Indeed, your review has put a big smile on my face.

We are delighted that you found the Penthouse amazing - it definitely delivers the wow factor. I still feel the same every time I stay the night. In fact, I never close the curtains at night either so I can lap up that amazing view. And as for the upgrade, you are most welcome.

I am sorry that you had to leave so quickly but we certainly hope to see you back here again in the near future.

Best wishes

Danny

Danny Purewal
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed in the rotunda with my partner for 3 nights. The room was a not huge but it was comfortable, they provide free wi-fi and it is in the centre of the bullring shopping district. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and the staff were helpful.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Hello Sam C,

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Tracey
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were impressed from the moment we arrived for check in which was smooth and welcoming. We were a bit disappointed not to be shown to our apartment and this would have been pretty helpful if only to find out how the equipment worked! Having said that, the Reception staff were most obliging and helpful and this added to the enjoyment of our first visit to Birmingham.

We had booked a 'Mini' apartment and we found it to be a comfortable size, neither too small nor too large. We would have liked a slightly larger apartment but had been advised when booking that only the Mini had a walk in shower (which my wife needs as she is unable to use a bath at present following an illness.

My wife and I loved the location, close to the Bullring, main shopping centre and Restaurants, and that the apartment was so well equipped, though we couldn’t work the complicated coffee machine! Simple sachets of coffee would have been very welcome. On the other hand, the orange squash machine was great. The floor to ceiling (opening) windows gave unobstructed views over the city and it was fascinating just to relax and gaze out,

I have to say, however, that we were extremely frustrated that only one of the small screen TV sets would work and even that had very poor Sky reception. We reported the problem but the Supervisor came to our room and admitted that it was not an uncommon problem. Though we didn’t go to Birmingham to watch TV, we cannot understand at the start of the 21st century why a solution cannot be found to what should be a straightforward issue! A larger screen and better sound quality should be expected by guests staying in such modern, city centre apartments. A few more drawers for clothes would have been a useful addition to the apartment. Also, though we had requested a daily maid service, our apartment was only refreshed once during our 4 nights' stay and our waste bins were overflowing, even though the booklet in the apartment says “Don’t worry about making beds, doing the washing up, tidying up……..that’s our job!” We always do our own washing up and make our own beds anyway, but that is not the point!

I have to say that we did experience an unexpected difficulty after we had checked out. My wife left her purse behind on the bed when packing her suitcase, unfortunately. There was less than £30 in the purse but it did contain her Bank Guarantee Card and her MasterCard. We only discovered this loss when we were sitting in the departure lounge at the airport but I telephoned Staying Cool straightaway and spoke to the Reception. We have heard nothing since so it is clear that the purse was not handed in. Happily, I was able to cancel the debit and credit cards the same day but, whilst the error was entirely ours, it is a sad reflection on our times when lost property is not declared by the finder, especially in apartments where such importance is attached to security.

I

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you don't like heights but do if you love fabulous uninterrupted views
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Hello Manxtravellers

Many thanks for your feedback and your 4 out of 5 rating, which I think was very decent of you. It's easy to see that you would have had a great stay but for the issues you mentioned.

Let's deal with the most serious issue first which is the one you raised regarding your lost property. Kim, our Birmingham Manager, checked with the Housekeeping Supervisor and the servicing team that we did not find your wife’s missing purse in your apartment on check out. Indeed, a senior member of staff also checked your room as soon as you called but found nothing. All of the individuals involved have been with the company from one year to three years and we haven't had any similar issues. We would certainly consider it a theft if one of our staff stole an item that had been accidentally left behind by a guest. We would be very happy to help the police to investigate this if you would like to report it.

I'm sorry you couldn't work the coffee machine - we also provide a cafetiere for those who prefer a simpler method of using our freshly ground coffee. I'm also really sorry about the housekeeping issue around the daily service you requested. It wasn't noted correctly on your booking by a member of the Guest Relations team which is why it was missed from the daily servicing log - simple human error for which the member of staff concerned is very apologetic.

In terms of the TV & Sky issues, again I can only apologise for the poor signal and quality you experienced. I know that Kim spoke to you about it while you were in house. We have had any number of engineers out to resolve this issue which happens from time to time and affects a couple of apartments on one side of the building for a short period but no-one (not even Sky) can say what causes it or how to resolve it. I know Kim offered to swap your apartment to one that wasn't affected but you didn't want to move as you weren't planning on watching TV.

On a more positive note, we are in the process of refurbishing the oldest apartments and are upgrading the size of TVs in the Minis (studios) as we too feel the original ones are too small.

For the benefit of other Tripadvisor readers, all of our apartments have a walk-in shower apart from the Clubman which has a bath with shower overhead. In the Maxis and Penthouses you have two en suite bedrooms, one with a walk in shower and the other with a bath and overhead shower.

We’re so glad that you found much that was positive about your stay and we’re so sorry to have let you down in other areas. I can assure you that it has been fed back to our management and staff and the matters were taken very seriously by everyone.

Best wishes
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
884 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 7,484 - ₹ 23,884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing