We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rose and Crown
Ranked #2 of 24 Warwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked this room very last minute as we were visiting family over easter. it was only £55.00 for a night including breakfast so we werent expecting much!

The room was huge! we checked in about 8pm and went down for a few drinks which was lovely, the bar was very popular and had a good atmosphere. The room was huge and nicely decorated, the location was perfect right in the centre of warwick high street which had a great atmosphere.

They had a large choice of breakfast in the morning, which were all yummy.

All in all I will be staying here again and can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room which was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootlacebecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    138
    55
    28
    12
See reviews for
101
177
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leics
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We recently visited Warick races and had the pleasure of staying at the Rose and Crown. The staff were extremely friendly, the rooms immaculate and the breakfast great. We had origanally booked in The Kings Head around the corner but when the racing was cancelled due to bad weather The Kings Head informed me that they needed 7 days notice or full payment !!! No such problem at the Rose and Crown they were extremely helpful and accommodating. The only down side is there is no parking but there are alnight 'pay & displays' nearby. Ideally situated in the centre of warwick and we will definately be returning. Remember if you think your plans may change keep away from The Kings Head.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Try rooms 2 or 3 and watch Warwick pass by below your window. You could not ask for a more central location than the rooms above this celebrated gastropub. Rooms are a decent size, stylish (mine had a large framed collage) with carefully chosen decor. Everything you need for a short stay is here and the staff could not be more obliging. The caveats ? only one really, the pub is deservedly popular at weekends. The outside tables beneath your windows generate large amounts of noise and there is no double glazing. Its a place to participate and hurl yourself into the maelstrom, not to study. Its one for the young(ish). Compensation comes in the way of two delightful mallard ducks who wander about the pavement outside. Its quite amusing to watch revellers side step these regulars.

Room Tip: ask for 2 or 3 which overlook the market place. Live Warwick
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novocastrian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very friendly staff. Clean, good quality rooms. Close to the centre of Warwick, including the bus transit centre. Lovely food.
From the outside, this looks like a classic English pub. On the inside it is an appealing mix of classic timber and trendy leather. The stairs were a bit narrow and winding, but the big room at the top was excellent - not much of a view, but beautifully fitted out.
A great place to spend out anniversary!

Room Tip: Go for the big expensive one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samedlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our one-night stay, and we wouldn't hesitate to go back if we need to be in the area - assuming we got a similar deal. The staff are friendly and polite, and the food is better than you'd find in most pubs.

But as you'll know from other reviews, it isn't perfect. We stayed in Room 3 and have to agree with the earlier comments about the electrical outlets being in awkward positions. We took an extension lead with us, but still had problems figuring out where we could safely plug the kettle in. And the hole in the wall was still there - surely they have someone who does routine maintenance?

The free wifi worked well though, and the room was of a perfectly adequate size. The bed was much more comfortable than we were expecting after reading other reviews - better than the average hotel bed, I'd say.

When we first arrived we were told that breakfast the following morning (Friday) would be from 8am (though if we came down earlier they'd sort us out). The information in the room says that breakfast is served from 7.30 am on weekdays.

For our evening meal we had the meat platter as a shared starter, and it was excellent - but the roast beef wasn't rare as stated on the menu - in fact it wasn't even pink, but well done. The service was good and the atmosphere pleasant; the bill for the meal was quite reasonable.

The next morning I ordered the Eggs Benedict from the menu, only to be told that they no longer serve Eggs Benedict, but Eggs Royale (with smoked salmon instead of ham). It was tasty enough, but rather cold, which somewhat detracted from my enjoyment. Why not offer guests a choice?

The first cup of coffee tasted as if it was either instant or left over from the night before. But the second one was good. Which reminds me, when we checked into our room there was no milk (though the deficit was promptly made up when we pointed this out).

There are multi-storey car parks within easy walking distance, but we parked round the corner outside Tailors restaurant (where we would have dined had there not been a private function on). However we had to move the car in the morning as only 30 minutes parking is allowed after 9am.

I guess if we'd been in a bad mood we'd have focused on the problems rather than enjoying all the things that are good about the Rose and Crown. Fortunately we were in a good mood!

Room Tip: It can be a bit noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanstedPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.8 km away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 km away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
0.2 km away
Warwick Arms Hotel
Warwick Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Warwick Hotel
0.6 km away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#8 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Property: Rose and Crown
Address: 30 Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,805 - ₹ 9,295
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose and Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rose & crown is a 17th century inn with rooms tucked into the corner of warwick's market square. We serve the good stuff: fresh seasonal food, a quality pint, great wine, well-made coffee, all with a genuine welcome for old guests and new. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Warwick
Rose And Crown Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing