We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Warwick!!!”
Review of Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Imagine a totally electrifying day out at Britain’s ultimate castle. Where you can immerse yourself in a thousand years of jaw-dropping history – come rain or shine.Where ancient myths and spell-binding tales set your imagination alight, and your hair on end. Where princesses are pampered and maidens are wooed, as winners become true heroes and losers are confined to dark, dank dungeons to be forgotten for eternity. It could only be Warwick Castle.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

If your going to Warwickshire Castle, please be aware that #1 parking is expensive. #2 the line up to pay to get into the grounds is usually loooooong and very sloooooooooooooooow........ #3 don't rush through the actual castle! Loads to see and check out. #4 be leary about putting your credit card into the ice-cream dispensing machine on the way in or out of the entrance. I tried to use it and it kept telling me there was a card problem yet I was still charged for an ice-cream I never received. Ya good luck arguing that when you get home and see your credit card bill. Now onto the best part!!!! I know some people didn't really care for the Dungeon Tour of Warwick Castle.... but they are WRONG!!!! Oh goodness the actors are soon funny!!! The Jester who took us in had an amazing sense of humour and it truly started our experience off right! The only part of the tour I didn't really care for was the mandatory photo session. They do this so at the end of your tour you get to see your face put onto a bunch of items and you can purchase them at high prices. This was the only part I didn't care for. Ok, but back to the dungeons... The tour is a bit frightening so yes young children will not enjoy this and if your in a group of people with a lot children (10 yrs. is min. age), the actors will keep it a bit more mild humoured so you might not get the full funny effect of the dungeon. Oh but what a riot it was!! The actors are so funny and if your lucky enough (or unlucky like me...) you will even get called upon to be part of the show!!! I got called up into the docket in the court room! Of course I was a witch and thinking back I should have truly ramped it up by playing along!! Oh you will love it though! The last room you enter is really quite amazing too! Hopefully you don't mind a little butt massage! hahaha Overall I will go back and visit this castle again and probably spend the entire next day walking around the town. What a beautiful place to visit.

Thank russianmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Warwick Castle and that you enjoyed the shows and displays available. We try to provide a whole day of entertainment and deliver the history of the Castle in a way that is engaging for people of all ages we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"birds of prey"
in 1,640 reviews
"horrible histories"
in 895 reviews
"dungeon tour"
in 539 reviews
"princess tower"
in 499 reviews
"car park"
in 1,145 reviews
"bird show"
in 311 reviews
"wax figures"
in 144 reviews
"merlin passes"
in 134 reviews
"peacock garden"
in 136 reviews
"the dragon"
in 164 reviews
"state rooms"
in 297 reviews
"extra cost"
in 134 reviews
"knight school"
in 121 reviews
"great family day"
in 213 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 123 reviews
"falconry display"
in 237 reviews
"school holidays"
in 160 reviews
Filter

1,223 - 1,227 of 13,345 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Great place with lots to see. We purchased a 2 day pass online even though we didn't use it ( because of the weather ) it was only an extra £1. We saw most of the castle on day 1. The dungeons are fab ! Not both the faint hearted and some children were quite distressed - there are plenty of warnings ! The actors are brilliant . Lots of photo opportunities and giftshops. A bit on the dear side but probably to be expected. Definitely worth a visit .

Thank lovetravellingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We’re pleased to hear that you had a great day at Warwick Castle and were able to take advantage of our return for £1 offer to return to the castle lovetravellingx! Warwick Castle has over 1100 years of history and we try to keep it interesting for all ages though our talks and tours, displays and interactive attractions such as the Kingmaker and Time Tower and we are happy to hear that you found lots to do. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Whilst the castle itself a wonderful example of castle in the UK, the price to get in is mind blowing.
For a family of four of us, me, the wife, 10yr son and 7yr old girl, it worked out to be roughly £105. That doesn't include the Dungeon attraction either, which at this price, should be included. If you want that you're looking at roughly another £5-6 each.
The car park is £10, which in itself, is an absolute rip off. So even on a basic level, its £115 to park and get in. More like £135 if you want the Dungeon experience as well.
The castle itself is lovely, the ground are lovely, but boy do you pay for it.
Eating there is just as expensive. Theres no real coffee or easy restaurant to sit at, as the only restaurant that is there is also pricey, no real kids options, so if you order a sandwich its £7 and a fancy one that most kids don't want, so I recommend you take a picnic and save yourself £30-50 in food.
I give it 2 stars for the castle itself, it loses 3 for the outrageous pricing. Ive been to loads of castles all over the UK and this is by far the most expensive. Its almost borderline 'Disney' ticket prices.
It goes against the grain, you're always told to get kids out and about and learn history and then they make it so expensive you think why bother?
It needs to be half the price, kids should be a tenner, not nearly £25 a child.

2  Thank andyrake007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

With an entrance ticket, guests gain access to over 1100 years of history, daily shows, regular History Team tours, over 10 indoor attractions and much more. For our guests who are more interested in our rich history, we offer the Towers and Ramparts, Devile Warwicke, Time Tower, our beautiful State Rooms and many other attractions. In order to reduce the overall cost of entrance, guests can purchase discounted tickets in advance on our website, or they can use a promotional voucher with one of our partner brands. As such, we feel that we offer our guests good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We went there with our kids doubting whether they will enjoy it or not..But our doubts proved pointless once we entered the castle. The castle is a vision for eyes.The landscape, the garden, the games for kids everything was perfect for our day out.

Thank alamprems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Warwick Castle and that you enjoyed the shows and displays available. We try to provide a whole day of entertainment and deliver the history of the Castle in a way that is engaging for people of all ages we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This was tremendous fun, despite cold and drizzle. Loved Dungeon tour but definitely not suitable for youngsters, fab flying display and interactive computer display very good. All in all terrific value with an on line offer. Only disappointment service in Conservatory which was painfully slow and tables full of dirty cups.

Thank beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Warwick Castle and that you enjoyed the shows and displays available. We try to provide a whole day of entertainment and deliver the history of the Castle in a way that is engaging for people of all ages we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warwick Castle also viewed

 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Warwick Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing