We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel, wonderful hosts”
Review of Sequoia House

Sequoia House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sequoia House
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We agree with the other 5 star reviews- we would have given 6 stars if available. We spent an evening here, as we attended a performance at the Swan Theatre, which is 5 minutes walk away. The hotel is beautifully decorated, so clean everything sparkles, the bed was super comfortable, the room very spacious, and the breakfast excellent. What also made a difference was the very warm welcome from the delightful and helpful hosts. We will come again!

A couple of details: there is wi-fi, you just have to ask for the password. Also, as the ceilings are very high, people with mobility issues should make sure they will not be put in the second floor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syrianoloukoumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Staying at the Sequoia House was an absolute pleasure form start to finish. Once we had parked the car in the secure parking area we were greeted by our hosts, who immediately made us feel welcome by offering us afternoon tea. The freshly brewed coffee and homemade cake was the perfect way to end our car journey and start our stay. Once we had had chance to unwind we were shown to our room, having the luxury of choosing which one we wanted to stay in (being the first guests to arrive). Each room was exquisitely designed and each with their own individual charm. We opted for the room with the dark wood sled bed, which was beautifully furnished and very generous in its proportions. The ensuite was also very modern and spotless and the bathroom products were top quality. 6 star hotels could've learned lessons from the quality. I could easily go on about how wonderful our experience was at Sequoia House, but that would take away all the excitement from your visit. I cannot rate the place high enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed here to celebrate my husands birthday and it was perfect. The house is gorgeous and the furnishings are lovely. Our room was peaceful and relaxing. The nice toiletries in the bathroom were a lovely touch. The owners are really pleasant and very welcoming. They gave us lots of information about the area.
Breakfast was wonderful - home cooked, excellant quality and really good portions.

This is not a place to go if you are looking for a tv; music system or internet in your room - however if your aim is to get away from the rat race and completely unwind in beautiful surroundings it is perfect. We will visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We loved Sequoia, every bit of it! Such gorgeous rooms, the owners have great taste in interior design and have done outstandingly with decorating the house. Every room we saw was stunning and had lovely individual character. Excellent showers, soft towels, robes, super comfortable beds and rather large and spacious rooms. The breakfast was just delicious and the breakfast room, again like the rest of the house, was beautiful.

Sequoia is a nice 7 minute walk through the park and over the River Avon from RSC and the centre of Stratford.

Thank you again for a lovely weekend and we will sure stay in Sequoia on our return to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KPairio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We stayed last weekend as we had theatre tickets. Great location for the theatre and town, lovely hosts that were so helpful - just how you wish all Hoteliers were! Room was lovely, full of character and the breakfast was very filling and tasty! Top marks!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BankerGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Lodge
Hampton Lodge
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
124 reviews
2.2 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
917 reviews
0.8 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,157 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,863 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia House

Address: 51 Shipston Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: ₹ 6,676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sequoia House, a recently restored Victorian town house offering B&B in four individually styled and beautifully appointed guest bedrooms. We are perfectly located near the river,just a picturesque stroll along the Tramway Walk to Stratford's shops,restaurants and world class theatres. Built in 1887,the year Queen Victoria celebrated her Golden Jubilee, the house has an intimate charm that no large hotel can match. Its classic interiors incorporate many period features and superb collection of antique furniture. Home comforts include luxurious beds,crips linens,splendid bathrooms,fluffy towels,home cooked, traditional English breakfast and good old fashioned hospitality. We should point out that our bedrooms are very much technology free, making the ideal retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing