We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
brasil
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exellent location”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very good hotel , nice room, exellent location
You can walk to every where
The hotel is in the old town

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us January, it is lovely to receive your kind words.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    678
    341
    137
    69
See reviews for
211
1,006
59
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, MA, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

After staying in several merely average hotels with a school group of 11, we encountered the Mercure where suddenly we felt as though we were being treated to a rare and luxurious piece of history. Our rooms were beautifully old yet comfortable, the common rooms were cozy and welcoming, and breakfasts were unsurpassed. Best breakfasts we had in England!

Further, it was a welcome relief to be able to use the internet in the pub and restaurant. We had dependable connectivity there and could get in touch with students' parents as needed.

The location on Chapel Street was ideal for on-foot sightseeing, and those of us who enjoyed an early morning run had a lovely one along the river and out along a public foot path.

We'd definitely come again!

Room Tip: I wish I'd been in the oldest section of the hotel, but I needed to be near my students!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us, it is lovely to hear how much you and your students enjoyed our Hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you all back to the Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orpington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed the one night and found the hotel to have character but modern at the same time. Comfortable bed, good helpful cheery staff, and an excellent breakfast. The bed was four poster, but no canopy, and dominated the room. There was a dressing area and en-suite. All of which was well appointed, bright and airy but didn't lose any of it's original character and charm. The hotel is perfectly situated to get around Stratford and priced to ensure it is accessable to all pockets. Only concern is car park small and very tight, but that would not stop us staying there again if we venture to Stratford again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveorpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank very much for taking time to tell us about your stay, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself.

I hope to welcome you and your family back to the Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

couldn't be faulted... well appointed room in the centre of town at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your short review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel is highly recommended. It is very central to all of the activities related to Shakespeare and offers the advantage of a carpark in the middle of town. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, and there is a lift available for rooms in the higher floors. A great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for recommending the hotel in your review. It is great that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakepeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.1 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.5 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
2.5 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.1 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,478 - ₹ 13,293
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing