We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves Its High Tripadvisoer Rating!”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Chose to stay at the Arden Hotel for 5 nights in April 2012 based on its Tripadvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. This is an absolutely beautiful hotel with wonderful service, exceptional cleanliness, a great restaurant (one of the best steaks I've ever had!), free wi-fi, great location (on the River Avon and immediately opposite the Royal Shakespeare Theatre) and wonderfully comfortable rooms with big fluffy doona's and pillows!

One of the things I noticed immediately when I arrived was the smell (in a good way!). Rather than being numbered, the rooms are all named after varieties of trees (I had the 'Cedar' room) and the hotel interior has a beautiful woody scent, I'm assuming in keeping with this theme. I don't know how they do it ('Tree in a Can'?) but it really is beautiful.

As I mentioned above, the service is wonderful. The staff are terrifically friendly and helpful without being obsequious and you really do get that 'home away from home' feeling.

Breakfast is magnificant! If you want you can do without lunch following their full English breakfast although there is no shortage of places to eat within only 2 or 3 minutes walk.

Location-wise couldn't be better, although anywhere in Stratford is really only a few minutes walk from anywhere else. As mentioned, right on the river but very quiet and just across the road from the theatre and the departure point for the daily Stratford Town Walk (the Swan Fountain next to the theatre - 10:30 or 11:00am depending on the day and time of year).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussellJW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 874 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

A great stay in a lovely position just back from the river and opposite the theatre. Our room was large with an extremely comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Service was first class - super staff who were very attentive. Although within easy walking distance of many restaurants, we ate in the hotel on each night of our stay - the menu offered plenty of choice and the food was very good. Being close to the centre of town, we had thought that we might have some road noise from traffic and pedestrians but this was minimal. Our only criticism is that we found there was a fair amount of noise from the corridor from about 7.30 am, probably due to the fact that it was narrow with rooms on each side. This may not be the case throughout the hotel and would be of no consequence if you are an earlier riser than me !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGrumpy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We got engaged at The Arden last year and went back for the start of our honeymoon. Once again, we had an amazing time and were highly impressed with the hotel. Apart from a couple of small issues not significant enough to mention in detail, everything was superb. Yes, the hotel isn't cheap, but it really is worth the money.

Particularly impressive was the bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived which was an unexpected but very pleasant surprise. Even more impressive was the bottle of champagne provided by The Arden at their sister hotel which we went to for the 2nd part of our honeymoon (they had only learnt we were going to their sister hotel as we left the Arden and 3 hours later we arrived to find the champagne in our room)!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexUK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

stayed here en route to the south of england - what a hotel! beautifully decorated, staff so helpful and friendly, rooms superb...best hotel ever stayed in! within 10 minutes of arriving we booked the hotel for the journey back home!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank junieg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon July 2010 - it was lovely! On arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade as it was our Honeymoon, we were escorted to a beautiful suite with a view of the river and the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. The food was delicious and the service faultless! It is rather expensive though - but we will be returning, fingers crossed, for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoxySimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.6 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,120 reviews
0.4 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,830 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,360 reviews
2.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,007 reviews
2.4 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: ₹ 8,503 - ₹ 20,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing