We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This tiny cottage is packed full of everything you would ever need. The table was beautifully set up for dinner with flowers chocolates and wine and the kitchen was stocked with eggs milk juice bread and biscuits plus tea coffee etc. Attention to detail is amazing , dressing table had hairdryer and straighteners plus mirrors with great lighting, something sadly lacking in many places plus loads of storage in the bedroom. Some comments about the bathroom being small but it wasn't a problem, more like an en suite shower room , but beautifully done and there is a huge bath upstairs if you want a soak! The hot tub is a must too, so relaxing! We only stayed for 4 nights but felt like we had been away for a couple of weeks .
Great pub restaurant in nearby Ashby St Ledgers which is a picture perfect village, would recommend booking also for the Admiral Nelson which we couldn't get in. Tried the Boathouse but definitely not impressed. Hubby left most of his and he is not a fussy eater. No comments from waitress when we told her, only upside is it was a 2 for 1 deal so didn't pay for his anyway, wouldn't return to eat there. Braunston chippy is great, cooked freshly to order so be prepared for a short wait, but the staff are friendly and chatty so it's not a problem.
Sandie and Simon are lovely and friendly too they have made the cottage a perfect place for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay at Mill Cottage and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanH198
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A little haven of tranquility ........”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday, a cosy cottage for two next to the Windmill. Small but more than adequate for our needs, a cosy lounge and a kitchen diner, clean and contemporary, and a small shower room. Our bedroom had a king size bed with a pop up TV and a large circular bath outside the bedroom door - we didn't use the bath as we much preferred the hot tub a few steps from the front door (housed in a nice wooden building). I have to say I had the best night(s) sleep ever in the comfortable bed. We walked down a footpath to the canal and walked one way and then the other, a lovely marina en route and a marvellous pub (The Admiral Nelson) at the end. There is no sound during the night from traffic, people, or anything else, which is exactly what I like.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage.
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerrieDan...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exactly What I Wanted!”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I surprised my mum with a two night stay at Braunston Mill Cottage for her 50th birthday. We often have girly weekends away to a Travelodge or Premier Inn but I wanted something special for her big birthday.

After much research, I decided upon Mill Cottage. What a good decision it was. It is only a 25 minute drive from where we live in Coventry so is very convenient. But it feels like we really 'got away'.

After a pretty stressful time, it was just what both of us needed. The cottage itself was spotless, very cosy and well-equipped. Sandie and Simon greeted us when we arrived with a LOVELY welcome. The dining table was set up ready for a meal, including a bottle of wine and box of chocolates. There was also bread, biscuits, cereal, eggs, milk, juice, tea and coffee. And not cheap stuff either.

The small washroom (with shower cubicle) also included shampoo, conditioner and shower gel.

Everything you needed was supplied, basically. So as soon as you arrive, you're able to just de-stress and relax without worrying about 'getting the essentials in'. This was very much appreciated.

Simon also recommended a fantastic Chinese take away which we made use of twice - The Water Margin - delicious.

My mum LOVED the hot tub. She'd never used one before but I knew it'd be right up her street. It was very nice being able to pop into the little summer house at any time and have a dip. Very minor quibbles here - there isn't much lighting in the hot tub area. We appreciate that this place is mainly for romantic couples who want mood, low lighting but it was just a little too dark, we thought. With the steam off the water, we could hardly see each other on our evening dips. Plus, the candles supplied in the hot tub area (and the cottage) were all mainly burnt down and unusable - to say such attention to detail is adhered to elsewhere, we found it a little strange that fresh candles weren't supplied. BUT this is a very minor quibble and is in no way a complaint. It's no big deal, just pointing it out.

The TV in the lounge has free use of Netflix which we used to continue our Suits marathon ha ha. We stayed in on the Friday night with a glass of wine and takeaway with the intention of trying one of the pubs on the Saturday night. But the cottage was so relaxing (and the lounge sofa so comfy) that we couldn't be bothered to get ready so we did the same on the Saturday night and stayed in with wine and takeaway!

We had the most wonderfully relaxing couple of days at Mill Cottage and it was exactly what I hoped it would be - an extra special treat for my amazing mum on her birthday. We'll definitely be back... I'm planning another weekend with my fiance in the future and we're thinking of looking into hiring the actual Mill (which is next to the cottage) that sleeps 6 people for a getaway with friends at some point too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Braunston Mill
windmill.holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula Ann...
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Table for two.”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A cosy romantic winter retreat. Just what we wanted. Just as advertised. Attractive and comfortable, with thoughtful extras such as flowers, wine and chocolates.

It's not perfect, nothing is perfect, but if you want a little luxury, and some time and space to yourselves, you'll find it here at Mill Cottage.

Braunston is a nice village too, and the canals are close by. We had a thoroughly relaxing stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
It was great to see that Mill Cottage is just what you wanted.
Hope to see you again
braunstonmill.couk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klm1023
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at the Mill Cottage in October 2014 and the whole stay was wonderful. We arrived to a general grocery package including wine, chocolates, egg, toast etc on arrival so we did not need to rush to the shops.

Beautiful location and the cottage was completed to a very high standard. The stairs are creaky but I would expect this in a cottage of this type. In relation to the downstairs bathroom. I was 24 weeks pregnant and had no problem with the size of the shower cubicle at all.

Everything you need to have a relaxing holiday. I could not use the hot tub due to pregnancy, but my husband throughly enjoyed it.

For anyone looking for a relaxing break I would thoroughly recommend a stay here and we would definitely return in the future. The village is beautiful with all the local amenities you need nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything I felt throughly pampered.
Liked least: The downstairs loo but, only due to pregnancy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Perhaps we may see you again.
braunstonmill couk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing