We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lukewarm food, efficient service”

Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Ranked #537 of 1,253 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$ 37 - US$ 37
Cuisines: Italian, American, Diner, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lukewarm food, efficient service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We visited the Northumberland Road/John Dobson Street branch early Thursday evening as it was handy for the City Hall.

The service was very quick, however the meals were all served luke-warm and the top layer dried out as though popped in the microwave. The 2 course £10.95 meal was rather average and we declined the offer of a £3.55 side portion of fries.

A 330ml bottle of Magners sets you back £3.75 and Cinnemon lattes £2.95. My small latte wasn't even warm enough to disolve the sugar!

Average food, above average prices.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ermintrude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    32
    21
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“always good food always friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Visited Newcastle with my husband and two children. We were early to go to the Hancock museum so decided to pop for a late breakfast/early lunch. Frankie and Bennys were offering two breakfast for £10 and always have good value childrens' meals so we went there, just off Northumberland Street. We've been a few times before so i thought i'd write a review to say how friendly, but no overbearing, the staff always are. Attentive to our needs and the food is always excellent and we don't wait too long for it. The kids meals come with a desert and unlimited soft drinks for around £4 which we think is great when you're dining out with your family on a budget. The meals are always good and taste freshly prepared and the breakfast we ordered on this visit were super. I would thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lcdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, Northumberland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I Love this place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

It does matter which frankie and benny's you go to, food and atmosphere is always the same....it's great!!!
I've been to the Edinbrough one, Newcastle, silverlink, cardiff.....all were gorgeous!!
Food is always really nice and it's nice sitting in all the restuarants, the music, the drinks.....they just make me smile :)
Little bit pricey depending on what you get, especially the drinks, but they have special nights and kids set menus so have a ganders!!

Helpful?
Thank Ashington_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The food tasted like the "worst frozen food I've had for while"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My friends and I went here for dinner. The food was utter rubbish and was over priced.
I strongly don't recommend -The steak wraps with "cheesy flavour powder sauce"

The food tasted like the worst frozen food I've had for while.
Atmosphere was cold. Staff Ok.

People deserve better quality food for these prices!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not a great place to eat for familys with hungry children”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

We went to Frankie & Benny's on John Dobson Street in Newcastle Upon Tyne for a family meal with our 2 young children under 5. We were seated after a few minutes and then the very poor service started.... first we waited 10 minutes to be asked if we wanted drinks or ready to order. We decided to go for the 3 course meal and two kids meals. The starters came for the adults after 20 minutes but then nothing for a good hour, so imagine 2 hungry children when other people who arrived later were getting their food. The service was that bad that a couple seated across from us offered our children chips from their plates. The waitress came over and said that the manager has noticed we have waited a long time etc and that food will be ready shortly. In the end after waiting more than an hour for the kids meals ( pizza and a burger) we decided to leave at which point the manager tried to persuade us to stay but it was not fair on the children who had still not eaten. The manager even said the kids food is ready if they want to take it with them, which we refused. We have been to F&B restaurants before and the service has been good, however after this poor display we won't be returning.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Newcastle-Upon-Tyne also viewed

 

Been to Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Newcastle-Upon-Tyne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing