We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, could be better.”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #333 of 1,386 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: JAMIE’S ITALIAN Jamie’s Italian is a contemporary and informal restaurant with a menu that reflects Jamie Oliver’s passion for authentic Italian cooking, delivered with his own unique twist on classic recipes. Beautiful rustic dishes are created using carefully sourced, higher-welfare ingredients for the best flavour, but still at great value. This is a relaxed, affordable and accessible environment where the style, atmosphere and menu can be easily adapted to suit any occasion. KNOWN FOR Child friendly; great value, quick lunch; special occasions; group bookings, party planning.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Food was very nice, albeit small portions and a tad pricey. Staff were pretty good, but why get served by different people throughout? The strange part was queuing downstairs for a table, to go upstairs to queue again?!?

Thank Doddy0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Doddy0078

Thanks for the feedback regarding your visit to us. Really glad to hear you enjoyed the food and that the team were well received.

At really peak times we will not be able to accommodate non booked diners straight away, but hopefully our ample bar is a great space to enjoy a drink before a table is available, and the only reason hopefully you guys had to wait is that one of our lovely hosts were sitting another table down but we do of course endeavour to never keep any guest waiting.

Best Wishes & Hope to see you again soon.

Paddy
JI Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 3,144 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Greeter at door directed us to wrong area of restaurant. We had to be moved. Four members of staff stood at entrance and watched 1 barman attempt to serve more than a dozen people. Pasta came undercooked and over-starched. On the upside salad and coffees were great, hence the 1 star. We wont be back.

Thank Jockette67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Good evening

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant; we do value all feedback, particularly when we have gotten things wrong, as we clearly have for you, as it all helps us to learn. I sincerely apologise that when you came to dine with us, we were a little disorganised and were failing to have our attention focused in the right areas as this has had a big, negative impact on your experience. We do try our best to get things perfect at every stage of a guest's visit, so we will definitely take your comments seriously to help us pinpoint where this hasn't happened. I'm sorry that your pasta was so poor; we take real pride in the ingredients that go into each dish as well the way we make everything fresh but it's clear the execution of the final product was not there for you. We are more than happy to replace or change anything a customer has an issue with at the table so the fact that we weren't able to rectify the problem at the time is a further shame on our part.

Again, I apologise your experience with us was such a bad one; thanks once more for bringing the matter to our attention.

Yours sincerely
Daniel Gaffney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

First time at Jamie’s Italian for us. The waiter was great and really helpful when dealing with my partner’s need to avoid dairy products. The red wine was gorgeous and the steak was good perfectly. The lasagne was a bit average without much flavour.

Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Good afternoon Emma

Thank you so much for taking the time to send some feedback regarding your recent visit.

Really happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and great to hear the staff were able to guide you through the menu to suit your partners allergen requirements. We are sad to hear however that you thought the lasagne was average. As always we appreciate any feedback we can get and I will forward your comments to the chef so he can make sure the kitchen team are preparing the dishes correctly and providing our guests with great food.

Many thanks once again and hope to see you soon.

Chris
James Italian Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Staff were really good but I had a cabornara and it was very bland, Wasn't offered any extra black pepper. My local Italian is so much better. I don't think Jamie would be very impressed if he had dinner here, much room for improvement. Ate here on Good Friday and it was the only place in town that wasn't packed, I now know why.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Sue

So sorry about any disappointment caused but we have individual pepper mills on all of our tables so I guests can add there own.

I really wish you could of passed this feedback onto the server at the time as we would of loved to of replaced with a pasta that would of been enjoyed.

Hopefully, if you return, you'll get to see the restaurant when it is busier and full of atmosphere.

Best Wishes

Paddy
JI Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had to be asked to be moved from back of restaurant to the front, staff always in a hurry don’t spend anytime to discuss anything, food poor quality and small portions will not be back as better Italian restaurants in Newcastle and better priced

1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Susan

So sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent visit to us.

We love that our staff are kept busy but they should always have time for the guest, we pride ourselves on great service.

In regards to the table you were sat at, I'm glad that we were able to find a table you liked and the staff had the time this time to oblige.

Best Wishes

Paddy
JI Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing