We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveller rating
546
508
180
54
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
508
180
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre car park next door train station free breakfast beans multi story car park sofa bed busy road excellent location st james park self service reception staff stag and hen parties budget hotel min walk yogurt checking in
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as was attending a concert. I've never been to Newcastle before but this hotel is not far from train station or Metro Radio Arena. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful in directing me to the arena and explained about breakfast etc.
The room was clean and modern with a tv,hairdryer,kettle and ironing facilities. Shower was powerful and hot with shampoo and soap provided. Bed comfortable and was minimal outside noise.
The breakfast was a good selection. Plenty of cereals,bread to toast,bacon,eggs,muffins etc and coffee and tea.
A great price and location,only reason it's not got a 5/5 is because when me and my young daughter were going back to our room after our gig,a couple of drunk men propositioned us in the lift(maybe hotel should monitor intoxication levels of guests?)Obviously we were ok but did feel a bit uncomfortable.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank kittykate96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night in this hotel for Arctic Monkeys. Fabulous location (5 min walk from the central station). Very clean. Polite and friendly staff. Was able to check in early at no extra cost. Comfortable beds and nice shower. Free wifi. Breakfast basic but included on the price. Check out 12pm. Would stay again

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sian1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We stopped here before an early morning flight from Newcastle airport having traveled by train. The location is superb, five minutes from the center and train station.
Rooms are clean and a little tight with a sofa bed, but comfy.
Handy for Chinatown and a walk along the Tyne.
Breakfast was the usual HIE which is adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorraineW1561, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Chris

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review.
We are so pleased that you had a really good overnight stay with us before your flight from Newcastle.
It is nice to hear that your room was comfortable and that you liked our location.
It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your buffet breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Sonia
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

I'm sure this hotel will have many redeeming features which you can read in the other reviews. My personal experience is that at midnight another guest was able to walk into our room as reception had issued him a key card and assigned him the same room they had given us about 90 minutes earlier.
Never had this happen in any hotel before.
To have a big drunk bloke walk in while you and your family are drifting off to sleep is completely unacceptable.
The explanation from reception made zero sense and leaves me thinking they have not got a clue what they're doing.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorraineW1561, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Colin

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am very very sorry to hear about your issues.
It is unacceptable for this to happen.
I believe you did speak to one of our other duty managers the next morning who refunded you for your stay.
I know this was bad service but I hope that this goes some way to recompensing you for your bad experience.
We do hope that this does not discourage you from staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Sonia
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

It's only a 10 minute walk from the station. Great location, not far from the shops and the stadium too. Nice sized room, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good in the morning with lots of hot & cold food choices. Staff we met, especially the 2 girls on reception at 1200 on the 1st Sept were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank abutler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our location.
It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your buffet breakfast which was included in your stay.
Our staff pride themselves on great customer service and they will be happy to hear that you found us to be friendly and helpful during your stay.
We would be delighted to welcome you back again on your next visit to Newcastle.

Kind regards
Sonia
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews