We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage made even more special by the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tessa O
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful cottage made even more special by the hosts”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A great week in a lovely cottage!

Booking was straightforward and the owners answered our emails promptly regarding bike storage and the hot tub. They were flexible with the arrival time and arranged to meet us at their shop to avoid us getting lost following our sat nav! We had a tour of the cottage which included some lovely touches such as snacks and wine. They have clearly put a lot of thought into the furnishings which were homely and comfortable and equipped for our every need.

Despite the atrocious windy weather we had a great week cycling and running with the help of Gordon and Joanne's expert local knowledge! We also appreciated the use their porch to store our road bikes. On our last night we enjoyed a romantic evening stargazing in the hot tub which was a great end to the holiday!

We already look forward to going back when the weather is better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladyVvh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We were looking for somewhere to escape and recharge our batteries. Petty Knowes was perfect and did just that. We were greeted by the owners who were lovely. They gave us lots of information about the area, we took their advice and enjoyed a good few days exploring.

The cottage is very close to the Kielder Forest Drive, as well as the Pennine Way.

We arrived at the cottage to be welcomed by Joanne and Gordon, and a wonderful afternoon tea in the fridge. Just Perfect!

The cottage is ideal, very cosy, with the real fire and a lovely clean and tidy Kitchen with everything you need. The bed is so comfortable, you may struggle to get out of it :-)

We very much enjoyed shutting the door on an evening and hiding away with the fire on and some nice food cooking.

We spent our last night star gazing whilst watching the flares going off in the distance over the military base. The perfect end to the perfect break.

Can't wait to get back there!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This is our second visit . Love the cottage . Joanne and Gordon are very friendly and helpful . It was our wedding anniversary . And Joanne had set the high tea table , with chocs , flowers and wine ect . Perfect ... The coal fire is a real treat , brings back childhood memories . The scenery is fetching . Even though we had rain and winds we still managed a dip in the hot tub and a relaxing time in the sauna

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisemig...
1 review
“Truley amazing !”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Myself and my other other decide to have a cheeky night away and opted for petty knowes cottage as it was to far from where we lived.
We absolutly over the moon with the cottage very homely,snug ,clean only 1 word could describe this holiday cottage and that is PERFECT ! We had a wonderful time and made to feel very welcome by the owners gordon and Joanne who were very welcoming and a absouloute delight! The only problem we had was we wish we could have stayed longer but due to work commitments it's back to the grind unfortunately
We hope to return very soon!
Fabulous accomodation and amazing host gordon and Joanne ! 5* all the way !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josdangir...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven:)”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Wow! What can I say other than this cottage is a piece of pure heaven!! From the moment we arrived we felt like we were in the lap of luxury! We were greeted with a lovely welcome from Gordon and Joanne the owners of the cottage. They gave us a detailed tour of the cottage and even presented us with some little extras for my 30th birthday, which was a lovely surprise. The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could need for a stay in a self catering cottage in the beautiful Northumberland countryside. It has a beautiful dreamy bed which I could have spent the entire holiday sleeping in. There's a warm cozy log fire for those chilly nights and big comfy sofas to sink into. There's a large range of books and magazines to help you choose places to visit during your stay. If your lucky and enjoy archaeology and Roman history Gordon may even give you a history lesson! :) As well as suggesting the best places to visit for Hadrians Wall. The cottage is set up on a area giving beautiful views over Northumberland. As well as the luxury of the cottage itself we were able to use the hot tub situated behind the main house. This was a real treat and we saw the most beautiful sunset whilst drinking Champagne! With chickens roaming free and lazy cats patrolling the garden, what more could you want from a rural retreat? Answer..... Nothing!!! Petty Knowes Cottage has everything! I will recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a quiet getaway from everyday life. A bonus is they allow dogs too so don't forget your four legged friend. I'm sure they will thank you for it!!! We had the most amazing week walking all around the countryside and feel we have made friends for life as well as some amazing memories!! Not forgetting meeting the resident chicken - Cornelius!!! :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing