We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
77
81
41
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
81
41
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big lamp hadrian's wall walk micro brewery country park separate building plenty of hot water comfortable room comfortable stay three nights one night stay accommodation tyne newcastle tlc
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We were walking Hadrian’s Wall and this happened to be the only accommodation in the area. It’s very nice and it was a very pleasant surprise as the online photos did not do it justice. We also had dinner at the pub the food was excellent and they had pretty large portions. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We came up to Newcastle with family from the south and Australia to meet up with other family in the area for a New Year Family party.
The staff here could not have been more helpful and special thanks must go to Margaret for organising our New Year's Eve meal despite numbers changing several times.
We enjoyed a very good meal with entertainment, excellent service and a very friendly atmosphere and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed few days away.
Lots of lovely walks along the banks of the Tyne as the county park is right next door to the hotel.
We stayed in one of the lodges which was fine it had a large bedroom and the heating was good the bathroom could do with a bit of TLC but was ok and there was plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are closer to the hotel and have parking outside the rooms so more convenient.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

I actually asked for reception at the bar and was told "this is it" and everything had been arranged. The manager showed us to our room just across the road from the pub and didn't just leave us to find our own way. The accommodation was clean and functional but perfect for our one night stay. A well cooked English breakfast on the Saturday morning with no pushing to get us to hurry up. Very important as our 6 year old grandaughter is not a morning person. For us the only problem is the location on the west side of Newcastle as most of our Geordie relatives live down on the coast to the east of the city and it's a fair distance away.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Our second stay (following similar in 2016) at the Keelmans Lodge. Our accomodation was a different lodge from last year and was more comfortable. Stayed three nights, and unlike other recent reviews, we found our breakfasts to be very good indeed (alas evening meal wasnt). The service was excellent on two of three mornings, a tad less so on the Sunday. Room was spacious and bathroom fine.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Myke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the second night whilst walking Hadrian's Wall.Big bedroom and bathroom, bedrooms in separate building. Bathroom needed maintenance, hot tap got so hot you couldn't touch it to turn it off. Service in the restaurant muddled, they didn't tell you you had to go up to the bar from the restaurant to pay. Packed lunch poor. Breakfast poor quality and took over an hour to complete. This place could be good but it isn't.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank WestSussexWhitefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews