We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
77
81
41
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
81
41
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big lamp hadrian's wall walk micro brewery country park separate building plenty of hot water comfortable room comfortable stay three nights one night stay accommodation tyne newcastle tlc
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

I actually asked for reception at the bar and was told "this is it" and everything had been arranged. The manager showed us to our room just across the road from the pub and didn't just leave us to find our own way. The accommodation was clean and functional but perfect for our one night stay. A well cooked English breakfast on the Saturday morning with no pushing to get us to hurry up. Very important as our 6 year old grandaughter is not a morning person. For us the only problem is the location on the west side of Newcastle as most of our Geordie relatives live down on the coast to the east of the city and it's a fair distance away.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Our second stay (following similar in 2016) at the Keelmans Lodge. Our accomodation was a different lodge from last year and was more comfortable. Stayed three nights, and unlike other recent reviews, we found our breakfasts to be very good indeed (alas evening meal wasnt). The service was excellent on two of three mornings, a tad less so on the Sunday. Room was spacious and bathroom fine.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Myke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the second night whilst walking Hadrian's Wall.Big bedroom and bathroom, bedrooms in separate building. Bathroom needed maintenance, hot tap got so hot you couldn't touch it to turn it off. Service in the restaurant muddled, they didn't tell you you had to go up to the bar from the restaurant to pay. Packed lunch poor. Breakfast poor quality and took over an hour to complete. This place could be good but it isn't.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank WestSussexWhitefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We spent one night there on our Hadrian's Wall walk. We were ignored and bypassed by the manager They were comfortable but lacking cross ventilation meant they can be rather warm. Be careful with hot showers or baths, apparently they set off the fire alarm which occurred just after our check in.

Dinner service was poor, we felt ignored tucked in behind a stairwell. The breakfast however was quite good.

Room Tip: The lodge is pretty new and the rooms are probably similar. We were on the upper floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandGuy376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The Keelmans Lodge provided us with a welcome rest after the first leg of the Hadrians Wall walk. The accommodation was comfortable and the bed was good. The big plus point was the availability of a bath.
The breakfast was very good and staff attentive and friendly. The packed lunch was very filling.

Room Tip: This is a mini hotel not a B&B so no family flavour but still recommended
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews