We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe for brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quay Ingredient

Quay Ingredient
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cafe for brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I went here twice over the weekend. When I first went on Saturday it was very busy and we were waiting a while. We did not mind as we were in Newcastle for the weekend and enjoying ourself. The owner gave us a free french toast because of the wait. We returned again on Sunday, it was much quieter and had hardly any wait. The food is great, all freshly made and the owner is so friendly. If you are looking for a cosy cafe with good food then this is your best bet!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarissa77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    166
    56
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The simple things, done very well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

After reading reviews on here and with our son staying at his grandmas me and my wife went for a leisurely breakfast on Sunday. I had the full English and she had the Eggs Florentine with extra bacon (the hollandaise on this was the best I've tasted). All of it was cooked very well indeed. Coffee was great, with a little home made gingerbread man on the side. Staff are super friendly.

It's not a fancy restaurant, it doesn't try to be something it's not, it just serves very well cooked honest food. We will definitely be returning

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevieheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Popped in this place on passing. Had the full breakfast and Coffee for £8.50, which might make you think it was a tad on the expensive side.... Not a Bit. Good Quality Fresh Bacon, Good Quality sausages (not paste sausages). No Baked beans but they were not a miss, everything else you would expect from a full breakfast. All well cooked, grease free and quickly and pleasantly served. Good fresh hot coffee to go with it... what more could I ask for to start my day. Would I go again... whenI'm in the area it will be my port of call for breakfast.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A little jewel just off the quay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Every so often you find a little place where good old fashioned values merge with modern styles and you get QUAY INGREDIENT.
To find it turn up the street at the side of the Premier inn under the Tyne bridge from the Quay and its on your left a little way up. We were met by a really friendly welcome and given a table for breakfast. The QI is a small place but that adds to its charm. The menu is well presented and a full english is £6.95. You are asked about how you like it cooked, type of eggs etc and it came beautifully presented with quality ingredients. My wife simply had boiled eggs but they came with toast soldiers !
The coffee was piping hot. The owners even bake their own cakes.We were told the business is new and its such a great thing in all the economic doom that places like QI still exist with the simple key success points which are Friendly welcoming approach, quality ingredients, value for money and being different from the chains.
Excellent !

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
146 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Quay To Success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

If you're visiting Newcastle in the near future-make sure that you visit this lovely coffee house. The breakfasts here are absolutely brilliant and such good value for money. A warm welcome makes you realise that you have made the right choice of eating venue. On a recent three day trip up north myself and my husband ate here two out of the three mornings-it was our mistake not to eat here on our second morning too!!
The full breakfast is fantastic value for money, the pork and leek sausage barm is big enough to fill you til lunch! The teas are delicious and a bonus-you can buy them in the shop!!
Very clean,there is a delightful ambience in a relaxed, modern cafe. The owners recognised us on our final visit and were genuinely pleased to see us return. We were staying in a hotel close by but had opted for room only-how glad we were! Make No4 Queen Street top of your 'must visit' list if you are ever in Newcastle.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quay Ingredient also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Quay Ingredient? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing