We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit. Won't be last .”

Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have Traditional Persian food also do all day English breakfasts We do meals with flat bread and also serve with rice. We now do delivery through Deliveroo
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

First visit to MR for lunch. Had grilled salmon with herb rice. Salmon was very tasty and moist and herb rice with lashings of dill was delicious! Nice little tomato and cucumber on the side. Served with chilli and garlic sauce on side. Gorgeous lunch. Really impressed. Fast , friendly service. Will be back soon!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank mandytellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

A hidden gem on Westgate Road. Fantastic food and plenty of it . It's just a little cafe but restaurant quality food .

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Campervan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Great value for money. Big breakfast (pic) satisfies a big stomach person, just for £4.50. Feels local. Persian bread was delicious as well. Leaves up to the high standard put up by its rating.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Avramis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent traditional food ! Oh my god the portions are extremely large ! It's delicious, do try the kebab!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank KatieK2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We went there for a late lunch on a Saturday. The food was okay (although we had better Middle Eastern food elsewhere if I'm being honest and the variety of the menu wasn't great). We ordered the saffron chicken kebab, the Saturday Special, which was a Persian chicken curry, some hummus and the mirza ghasemi.

However, the service was appalling. Our waitress didn't speak English well at all and also didn't understand us, which made the ordering process particularly frustrating, especially since she didn't even seem to know what was on the menu. We asked if they served decaf - she didn't know what we meant; when we ordered the saffron chicken kebab, she didn't understand at all ("kebab" seemed to be another word she didn't understand), so we had to point to the item on the menu, at which point she confused what we were showing her with a different dish; she then asked something which we didn't understand and in the end she just gave up and said she knew what I wanted to order. It became clear when she brought the order that she had been trying to ask me whether I wanted salad with the saffron chicken.

Our waitress also brought one of the main dishes together with the starters, which made it quite uncomfortable, as we were sitting at a small table and not all plates fit on it. She didn't come to take away any empty plates until we had finished eating everything.

But the worst thing was that, although there were just two of us and we each ordered a starter and a main, she completely forgot about the second main dish. I was halfway done with my main dish when we asked about the other main dish, at which point she asked "Do you still want it?" She did apologise in the end, but we would've at least expected the dish she forgot to bring to be offered free (if not the whole meal).

Also, what place doesn't take card payments in 2018??

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 930elizai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing