We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant as always”
Review of Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dene Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Another great stay at the Dean, great rooms, friendly staff and a good breakfast.
Great value and much better than staying in the city centre.
Metro, shops and pub all in walking distance.
Hotel has good solid regular customers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear quieter, excellent sausage for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review of the Dene hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

We needed to visit the Freeman hospital for a few days. The hotel had an excellent location (three quarters of a mile walk) to visit the hospital, across a very beautiful valley; check it out.
The room was satifactory, homely, with all the facilities one would expect. The breakfast was well cooked and filling. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The only potential problem, was parking. I managed to park in one of the few spaces at the hotel, and left my car there for the whole stay. The hotel said they had residential parking permits, at a cost, but had none left! Parking could be a real problem, with all the streets needing a residential parking permit for a significant number of hours each day. See Google maps. Does Newcastle want to encourage people to use the hotels and nearby shops?
All in all, the hotel was excellent value for the cost. I would definately book the hotel again, when I next have to visit the hospital in Newcastle.

Room Tip: There is a lift. You may want to request a room near to it, or not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertpickering07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review of the Dene hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Stayed at the Dene Hotel Saturday 9th July. After a full day of walking shopping and gossiping, we were on very tired legs.

We were greeted by a lovely clean reception and the perfect gentleman, who booked us in, Very polite, helpful, wasn't the word, nothing was any trouble, he even searched the hotel for a phone charge for my friend (who had left hers at home :-) ). we were in formed that they did have a group in and would make sure they kept the noise down, this wasn't a problem at all.

We went up to our room, which was again, fantastic, clean well made and brilliant shower.

Got up in the morning had a lovely cupa tea, before setting down for breakfast. Again clean tidy and the food was again great.

There is nothing bad or even slightly off about this hotel. The staff, comfort, cleanliness, location, parking, all amazing will stay again Big thank you to all the satff. See you all soon

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review of the Dene hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed with 2 friends for 2 nights before walking Hadrian's Wall. They were able to get 3 beds into a room. It was tight but comfortable. The full English breakfast was average but definitely adequate. Close (half mile) to the West Jesmond Metro station. Not a destination hotel but good for what it is.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank rl6005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review of the Dene hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Came here for a night out for my sisters 40th birthday.. hotel was brilliant.. rooms cosy,bed was so comfy and staff couldn't do enough for you.. booked bed and breakfast.. full English too..would definitely return to this hotel

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Debs3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review of the Dene hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#51 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
148 reviews
0.4 km away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
516 reviews
0.5 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#48 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
258 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
843 reviews
0.2 km away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Address: 38 Grosvenor Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: ₹ 4,461 - ₹ 8,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing