We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff, just don't eat the food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a nice location, clean friendly staff.
Short walk to town, food was really awful though..
I would stay here again but not have breakfast either.
Internet should be free but only for Half hour.
You have to pay for car park.
Beds not the most comfortable just average.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tpabslg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Newcastle Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for providing your feedback with us at our Newcastle Central Travelodge.

We are so pleased to learn the hotel was an ideal location to suit your needs and your room was clean. We're sorry to learn you were not positively impressed with the breakfast provided in our Bar Cafe. In such instances we would kindly suggest to let our bar cafe staff know. The team would then resolve this for you with the kitchen team and offer a resolution to improve the service offered. We understand on occasion this is not possible, however please rest assured your feedback will be used to help us to avoid similar instances in the future.

We thank you for your helpful comments and we do hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Water was turned off in the afternoon. Would have been fine if we had been advised of this. Had to go to appointment with out getting showered/washed. They did say they could try and give us another room far to late as appointment to keep

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank ourrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Newcastle Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for submitting your review of our Newcastle Central Travelodge.

We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us with your review via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel.

Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To be fair, I wasn't a happy bunny when I arrived after a very long drive, and that may have exacerbated my irritation, but the visit went as follows:
- no signage from car park into the hotel
- dragged suitcase up steep hill because it was not obvious where stairs or lifts were
- had to make my way through two smokers in the entrance to the hotel - illegal
- receptionist didn't care when I pointed out the smokers
- stain on sheet by pillow - don't know how this was missed when bed was made
- hair at eye level in shower
- told that you paid for the parking on the way out - this is not the case I now risk getting a ticket
- no one asked how my stay was
Such a shame

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryPanda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Newcastle Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for submitting your review of our Newcastle Central Travelodge.

We understand that your overall experience was not exceptional and we do apologise for this. We'll be sure to pass your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel as this is the best way for us to improve the service we offer.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got here early on 12/9 and was able to check in and my room was all ready. It's ideal for pubs and bars about a 6 minute walk down to he Quayside and about a 10 minute walk to the city centre. I'd definitely book again purely for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 762ellieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This Travelodge is very centrally located. Rooms comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room rates great value for money. Newcastle offers free wi-fi all over the town, so don't spend £3 per day charged by Travelodge. There are bus stops literally across the road. You can by whole day bus pass on the bus for £2.80 so ideal for sightseeing very cheaply. There is an Indian restaurant right next door. Buffet style with huge choice. Make sure you book as very popular.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kolossimandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 km away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
610 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#36 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,230 reviews
0.6 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,748 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
802 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newcastle Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle Central

Address: Forster Street Quayside | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: ₹ 3,049 - ₹ 11,742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Newcastle Central 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel recently gone through major refurbishment programme, get up and go and enjoy the new Travelodge look. The hotel is located just off the Quayside and a 10 minute walk from the city centre / train station. As well as the new look in our rooms - we have a funky fresh new look Bar Cafe where you can enjoy a relaxing food & beverage experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Central Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle Central
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing