We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“friendly and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Hotel

Avenue Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“friendly and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stopped at the Avenue for 5 nights while my mother was in Freeman hospital. Place clean and tidy, staff very friendly and helpful. The Jesmond cricket club just over the road is a great place to chill out and have a good pint.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thankyou for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    21
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
18
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011. The room was very shabby and although fairly clean, could have done with a coat of paint and a new carpet. During our stay we only saw one member of staff - a very pleasant young girl who was on her school holidays and was helping out. The bathroom was tiny, the shower was covered in mould, the toilet seat loose and although we pointed this out nothing was done. I would never stay there again as i think it is very poor value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Im sorry you were disappointed with your stay at The Avenue. The property is currently undergoing a total refurbishment and unfortunately you stayed in one of the two remaining rooms which hasnt been completed yet. We are planning to complete all work by early next year.
You only mention your bedroom having problems so I hope you enjoyed the other areas you were in which have been updated.
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The avenue is situated about a mile and a half from the city centre. We found it a little bit too far to walk especially if your going to walk round the city when you get there but the bus service seemed pretty reliable . Last bus back was about eleven so nightclubbers would have to get a taxi. We had a recently refurbished double ensuite on the first floor which wasnt over large but ample for the two of us . It had a flat screen tv ,comfortable bed and nice modern shower and toilet. We were given the option of the family room on the same floor which was a lot larger but hadnt been refurbished and on the whole the double room was nicer. The hotel is a little bit out of the way but there are a few bars and restaurants on Osborne Rd about 5mins walk , and there is the advantage of it being in a quieter area , we had two very peaceful nights sleep .Breakfast was served between 7.30 and 8.30 and was very nice ,well cooked and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was kept very clean. Would stop there again if in the area .

Room Tip: Room 4 was a recently refurbished and modern double ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thankyou for your honest review and compliments for our refurbished room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is a small, clean, friendly B&B run by Julie who gives a warm greeting to all guests. I had an ensuite double room on the ground floor which looked as if it had been recently renovated. The shower was one of the largest and best for this grade of accomodation. It is situated in Jesmond a student are with retaurants nearby. Its possible to walk into the city centre from here.
I would throughly recommend this B&B if you are looking for reasonably priced accomodation in the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julesavenue, Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thankyou so much for your kind remarks. They are very much appreciated, it is always good to hear we are doing the right thing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

1st time to Newcastle & first impressions I thought hotel was middle of nowhere. It is in a quiet residential area, but in fact there are numerous, busy bars about 10mins walk.
There are 2 Metro stations about 15mins walk , and very regular/cheap service straight to Central Newcastle. In fact location was idea as peaceful yet easy access to other areas. (Maybe not suit those looking for heart for action non-stop Newcaslte nightlife).

Rooms very clean & average size. Nice bathrooms & seemed fresh & airy. Our room, number 9 (top floor) overlooked the cricket pitch - so cricket fans would be in their element. Wasted on me though. Very welcoming & friendly staff.
At £30 pp per night BB - thought good value

Room Tip: Top floor - up 3 flights stairs. Not suit everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 km away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 km away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 km away
Rosebery Hotel
Rosebery Hotel
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#70 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.6 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: 2 Manor House Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,363 - ₹ 6,449
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing