We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveller rating
719
299
95
36
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
719
299
95
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath monsoon shower mezzanine level free standing bath cigar shack mezzanine bathroom nespresso machine huge shower sister hotel wedding night city centre lovely hotel beautiful room mini bar an upgrade superior room walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We stared here last week. We stay at York Hotel Du Vin often so decided to try here. We also want to try them all!

It didn’t disappoint, we got our upgrade and Stan on reception checked us in and took our bags while we waited on the bar for our room to be ready. He was very polite and helpful.

I had some food while we waited which was nice.

When we got to the room. It was amazing. Huge and amazing just as usual when we stay at a Hotel Du Vin. Our bags were already in our room to. There is the usual slippers, bathrobe, tea coffee, mini bar etc also there are complimentary water now that gets changed every day.

Our sheets were also changed every day which I was impressed with and an extra magazine was put in our room on day 2.

I would recommend this hotel where every it is.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gem87NorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear gem87NorthYorkshire,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel du Vin Newcastle following great experiences in York so it’s great to read we didn’t disappoint and you had a great experience with us too!

I have shared your feedback with the team and it’s greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards

Chris Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Oh what a lovely place. Staff friendly and efficient. The food was delicious. I had the jerusalem artichoke soup, my partner duck terrine. Main course was coq au vin. Absolutely fantastic. Pear dish and the Scottish cheese with Dundee cake. Lovely!! Would highly recommend this place. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hennyreeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Hennyreeky,

Thank you for the great comments. Delighted you had a delicious lunch enjoying great service too!

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes

Chris Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We are always met in a very friendly proffesional way when we come to Bistro du Vin, it's so lovely but we have never had the Sunday Lunch. We were excited to see rib of beef on the menu, our favourite cut of beef for a Sunday. We ordered our mains and were informed to go into the adjoining room for our starters. WOW! Soup, different breads, numerous salads, coleslaw, several cuts of cold meats, spanish ham, a side of smoked salmon, a side of cooked salmon, scotch egg and the nicest home made sausage roll ever. We tried to not put to much on our plate it, it was very difficult! It was all beautiful, if we had that everyday we would be very happy indeed. We were asked if we'd like some time before the mains for once we said yes. Then the gorgeous rib of beef lunch arrived it was served with yorkshire pudding & our individual gravy and seasonal veg, it was all fabulous. Then can't believe it dessert!!! There was several to choose from all sounding delicious, I had scrummy chocolate mousse and ice cream, my husband had the french cheese board and a beautifully served latte coffee. It was all amazing. Value for money? Yes, unbelievably £24.95 for 4 courses. Can't wait to go back. Thank you to all the staff, especially Elliott and the great chefs. Outstanding!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RDHappytimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear RDHappytimes,
Thank you for the wonderful and detailed feedback of your recent visit.
It’s great to hear you keep coming back, and your comments about the staff, chefs and Elliott in particular are really appreciated and I have made sure these have been passed on to the whole team.

We can’t wait to welcome you back for another outstanding Sunday lunch.

Kind regards

Chris Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We booked Hotel Du Vin in Newcastle for our daughter's wedding on September 21st this year and it is without doubt the best decision we have ever made! Everything about the day and venue was perfect; the ceremony room was lovely and being able to walk out onto the terrace afterwards into glorious sunshine and get some fantastic photos of the Tyne made it even more special. The food was incredible, the rooms were magnificent but above all, the Staff were unbelievable! Stacie and Vikki who coordinated the wedding are second to none and made sure everything went to plan and everyone was looked after; I really can't speak highly enough of them. Every member of Staff involved deserve a medal for their friendliness and attentiveness, they were brilliant.
If you're looking for the perfect place in Newcastle for a brilliant family wedding, look no further because you won't find anywhere better than Hotel Du Vin!

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the river are great.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Dear Paul,

Firstly thank you for choosing Hotel du Vin Newcastle for your daughters wedding.

We are delighted that you all had such a great experience and we could play some part in ensuring your daughter had a wonderful time on her special day.

Your feedback is really appreciated and I have shared this with the full team including Vikki and Stacie from our events department.

Warmest regards

Chris Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Gorgeous rooms and decor. Rooms have unusual layouts and nice features. Very small bar and lounge in this hotel, but good choice of drinks and great staff.
Restaurant was very good; brilliant breakfast and really good dinner. Waiters were the perfect combo of chatty and attentive but never annoying.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank donnamL1808KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisThompsonHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear donnamL1808KG,

Thank you for the kind comments following your recent stay with us.

You comments about the team are really appreciated and will be shared with them. We are really pleased you took advantage of our great bistro enjoying both dinner and breakfast!

Hope to see you again soon

Best wishes

Chris Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews