We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy food”

Red's True Barbecue - Newcastle
Ranked #217 of 1,401 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 25
Description: The church of true barbecue.
Restaurant details
Description: The church of true barbecue.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had the lunch menu. The french fries looked as though they had been reheated a couple of times, my burger was burnt to a cinder and my daughters ribs were raw. Told the waitress who said she would inform the manager who obviously was'nt concerned at all because he didn't appear. When we asked for ketchup we were told to get it ourselves.. Never again.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red's True Barb... E, Manager at Red's True Barbecue - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

we,re awfully sorry your burger wasn't up to scratch upon your visit, we do hope that this will not change your mind about us! our ribs however are smoked which can leave a pink ring around the meats (a smoke ring) signifying true authentically smoked meat. If you have any questions please don't hestitate to message eldonsquare@truebarbecue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Red's recently after hearing good things about this place but I have to say we all left a little disappointed. I got the chicken burger which was a little dry and totally overpowered by the sauce that came on it, my father got the pulled pork which was bland and dry and my wife got a veggie burger which she said she didn't enjoy. Our son got the mac and cheese balls, which were just about edible because they were so overcooked. We may have just caught them on a bad day but overall it wasn't a very positive experience.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 588nickyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red's True Barb... E, Manager at Red's True Barbecue - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

we're awfully sorry your visit with us wasn't up to scratch, we hope that you can overlook this and come true us again. we'd love to here more about this visit to help improve on your next visit , don't hestitate to contact us at eldonsqaure@truebarbecue.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Went with friends to try for the first time.
Wasn't disappointed even though there was 10 of us food came quickly.
I ordered the pulled chicken pork combo.
Very nice indeed.
Friends went all out with the Pit Master Tray..... They all agreed food was fantastic.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank baboon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red's True Barb... E, Manager at Red's True Barbecue - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

we're glad to here you had an awesome time at your visit with us! we love to hear back from our customers who enjoy their time with us! Thanks for the feedback, hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We visited here on a Thursday night before going to City Hall for a gig. Liked the chilled out vibe and the food on offer. The staff were friendly and accommodating - boxes at the end for over ordering, good chat about the gig, solid recommendations for first times. Good BBQ food, especially liked the scratchings - their own brews aren't too shabby either. Be careful - easy to over order. Would go back.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red's True Barb... E, Manager at Red's True Barbecue - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

we're really glad you enjoyed your visit to Red's , we lobe knowing that our customers loved our food and service and its lovely to hear this from you! We're especially glad to here you liked our choices of brews (brewed in house at Reds). Although we have to agree sometimes its's all too good your eyes can get a little too big for your stomach!
Thanks again! see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My partner and I called for drinks on an afternoon. Great atmosphere and fantastic staff. Very friendly. Service good. Great selection of beers. Nice seating areas.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank enncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red's True Barbecue - Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Red's True Barbecue - Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing