We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
72
65
35
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
65
35
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course golf break pro shop golf club golf society great golf played rounds shadow of a doubt mussels staying overnight nothing too much trouble a bit tired great shower whole experience previous night duty manager surrey countryside
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We booked this for my husbands Birthday, what a treat. Everything was great, the staff, the rooms, the food, the golf course was out of this world with many hidden features along the way. Although a bit tired, I felt this added to the overall charm. Would love to go again. Thank you very much

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post your review - we are all so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope your husband enjoyed his birthday.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

It’s a plain and simple golf oasis – not to be missed.

If you’re a golf nut, this is a must.

If you’re not a golf nut, but enjoy watching serious devotees of golf at work and play, it’s also a must.

But you need to book soon, it closes in October to be turned into yet another fancy over-priced golf spa hotel for the over rich. Such a shame. Such a waste.

The setting is quiet and tranquil. It’s a long drive to the house, but long enough to leave the hustle and bustle of the rest of the crazy world behind. This is not so much a hotel, as a golf club with rooms. A rambling Victorian house, with sadly overgrown pleasure gardens, pretty immaculate golf course (despite the lack of rain this year), ornamental lake and fountain. Pure tranquillity. Well worth a wander even if you’re not there to play golf.

And what rooms – spacious, immaculately clean, and comfortable – even though you may need a guide to find them in the warren of rooms of this place.

The restaurant offers the kind of food that appeals to golfers – mostly burgers and butties – but with a nice range of salads and cooked foods too. Staff are friendly and efficient. Food is excellent.

Breakfast is again targeted at golfers – catering fully expects most guests to go for the full cooked English options – there’s little else on offer. But what is there is good. A single bowl of fresh fruit salad and weak tasting fruit juice was on offer for the rest. Breakfast here is quiet. Not subdued, but concentrated and anticipating. Almost excited. Everyone (almost) is concentrated on the round or rounds ahead. There is little conversation, other than golf.

I was the token non-golfing guest. I’m told that the course is better maintained towards the house than further out, but still worthwhile and a challenge throughout. And the halfway house was a much appreciated feature.

In other places facing closure, the staff are miserable, tending towards unhelpful. But not here – all true professionals, efficient and welcoming. Clearly a great team.

The bill for two guests for dinner (including drinks), bed and breakfast was £105. Golf was extra but (apparently) still very competitively priced for the area.

So, if you’re a golfer – go! Go now!
If you’re not a golfer – Go now!
Go and witness this precious time capsule before it is no more.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenHy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We booked at last minute and pleasantly surprised all though a bit tired the dining room was pleasant ,the friendly and attentive staff were very good. Would recommend a visit
The gardens were interesting but again need some attention

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review and for your kind words about the team. I shall pass on your comments to our F&B Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

This is the 2nd visit to Gatton Manor. It's one of our favourite courses. All met friendly staff.

Breakfast was of good quality and course very well maintained

Well done all.

Bent Bananas Golf Society

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank MrP2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Always a pleasure to welcome one of our favourite society groups and thanks for the lovely feedback. Hope to see you for one more visit before October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Stayed at this golf club/hotel for 2 nights with 7 male friends and played 3 rounds on this simply fantastic golf course and were completely bowled over by the whole experience.
The greens were really first class, the rooms fine and the food just magnificent, all supported by the most welcoming, pleasant and helpful staff I have been assisted by in all my golfing travels worldwide.
The manager, Stuart, simply could not do enough for our party and was the nicest guy imaginable.
A very big "thank you" to him and all his staff, first class people.

PLEASE keep the golf club open and ensure these wonderful people all keep their jobs!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking course have nice views
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews