We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shearers Cottage

Shearers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shearers Cottage
Shearers Cottage Shearers Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Shearers Cottage
Shearers Cottage
Shearers Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge
Dining Room
Poppy Bedroom
Green Bedroom
Sutton Hoo Burial Site
The Farm
The Farm
Woodbridge
Woodbridge
Woodbridge
Woodbridge Tidemill
Woodbridge Windmill
Woodbridge
The River Deben
The River Deben
The River Deben
The River Deben
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Woodbridge, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Crooke
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect rental”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Shearers Cottage is just perfect, very comfortable and with everything you need including dishwasher, washing machine etc. and is ideal for a family, with swings and a trampoline, indoor games and DVDs. The location is secluded but within easy reach of Suffolk's attractions. We had a little trouble finding the cottage because our SatNav sent us somewhere else but if you turn into the road signposted Sutton Hoo from the main road (B1083) the cottage is just on the right. The owner is very friendly and welcoming and has paid a great deal of attention to detail and guests' needs, even leaving us tea, coffee, milk etc. and a bottle of wine - very thoughtful and appreciated when all you want when you arrive is a nice cup of tea !!!
Overall a brilliant place to stay and you certainly will not regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The comfort and location
Liked least: Slight traffic noise from the road during the day
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind words, it is always lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliancad...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The photos and past reviews of the cottage are from when it was first opened. When we arrived from the outside the cottage looked lovely and on first appearances on entering it looked fine but once we were unpacked and has the opportunity to take in the appearance of the cottage looked tired and was in need of a good update, the carpet was worn and ill fitting through wear and tear. The best feature of the cottage was the kitchen, it looked new and had everything anyone would need to stay there. In the bathroom in the main bedroom the plug in the bath did not hold the water and a bath could not be had until we had spoken to the owner who had to provide a new plug the next day. The sink in the second bathroom had the same problem, both these issues did not appear to be new as one of the plugs had a coating of white mastic on it trying to serve as a washer to prevent the leakage. As the holiday progressed a smell of damp began to emit from the second bedroom, whether it was a leak from the pipes or just inadequate drainage I would not like to say. We did comment in the Vistors Book about the smell when we left .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was great
Liked least: The description and the current photos are misleading to the condition of the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
We are sorry that you did not enjoy our cottage as much as you had hoped. The plug issue was dealt with promptly and at no time did you comment on a drainage smell so I was not aware of this, sorry. I will ask our present guests if they are having a problem and thank you for drawing our attention to it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRuth...
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here by chance as we usually stay in Orford but this place came up on trip advisor so we decided to have a change of scene. We are so glad we did as this was a little gem, a short walk from Sutton Hoo. The accommodation was clean and well laid out with ensuite bathrooms for both bedrooms, something that our young children loved. They also adored the trampoline and the swing set outside, so much that they did not want to leave!
The kitchen was well equipped and it had a large fridge freezer and also a separate smaller fridge. The beds were very comfortable and the living room area was well thought out with a tv and dvd player. Free wifi was also much appreciated.
This is a great place to stay whether you are a family or a couple. It's ideally located close to Woodbridge and Orford and the nearest pub is a 800 metre walk down a hill with a footpath. It is near a reasonably busy road but it's perfectly safe and the beautiful and handy setting more than makes up for this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing value for money.
Liked least: Sorting the rubbish, sorry!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very well appointed cottage, especially the kitchen. Clean, and a friendly welcome from Helen. Comfortable furniture inside and out. Walking distance to Sutton Hoo, and easy travelling to Southwold, Aldeburgh, and Orford. Also try Bawdsey Ferry, and for a wet day try Christchurch Mansion in Ipswich - Tudor, with Constable and others art on display - and its free !
Downside, if you are tall and follicly challenged, beware of being cooked by the lights in the kitchen. Also there is a bit of road noise.
Lovely place to stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vascot
Ascot, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location close to attractions, walks and the coastline”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally situated with Sutton Hoo on the doorstep and within easy driving distance to the Suffolk coastline. We wanted somewhere near Woodbridge and Ipswich to enable us to meet with friends and visit the coast and local attractions and this cottage met our needs superbly. The owner was very welcoming and we had a brilliant 3 night stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing