We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I JUST HAD TO GO BACK !”
Review of Potash Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potash Barns
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I JUST HAD TO GO BACK !”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Karen Edwards my Yoga Teacher organised get another retreat weekend at Potash Barns in April and it was every bit as good as the last time, last October. The weather was great. As before the accommodation and the food were first class. The Yoga Studio has a brand new floor. There are a few more chickens, ducks, goats and some baby lambs this time as well which we were able to bottle feed. The whole weekend was first class, thanks to Karen for organising it and Claire and her Husband and children for making us so welcome. Looking forward to going back in October.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

A couple of weeks ago I went for a Yoga Retreat Weekend with a group and it was amazing. Such beautiful and peaceful surroundings. The barns were so comfortable, well furnished and immaculate. Ideal for self-catering if you wish. We chose a vegetarian diet of 3 meals a day comprising of brunch, afternoon tea and evening meal. The food was delicious,all mostly homemade - breads, chutneys, smoothies, curry, jams and cakes. There were 12 of us and we all just loved it. The owners made us so welcome and couldn't have been more accommodating. We have all booked to go again next October and I think Karen our Yoga teacher will be back in the Spring with another group. A great memory. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We were warmly welcomed to the Cart Lodge an immaculate centrally heated barn conversion with all the home comforts. The Cart Lodge includes a wonderfully equipped kitchen sympathetically styled in natural wood with a range cooker and all the facilities you would ever expect to find. The adjoining open plan cosy lounge/diner is centred around a large wood-burner complete with an abundance of logs (for a minimal charge). A huge bathroom with both Shower and freestanding bath separates the two large beamed double bedrooms, one with a cosy king sized bed and the other with two singles. Set in the grounds of the farm, well away from the quite country lane provides total tranquillity and no light pollution at all - ideal for stargazing.

A good Wi-Fi coverage provides a link back to civilisation should you need it although TV signal was a bit snowy and needing an upgrade to digital reception.

This holiday location provides a perfect base for exploring the delights of Suffolk countryside or just a retreat to achieve total relaxation.

We will certainly return and we cannot possibly recommend it to others as we may not get booked in :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b4lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed in the cart lodge with our two large dogs. The hosts are incredibly friendly and welcoming and made us feel very much at home. We couldn't have asked for more. The cart lodge was immaculately clean and tidy, however, I'm afraid we wouldn't stay there again, as we didn't feel it was 100% ideal for our dogs. The statement of an enclosed garden is slightly misleading. Yes it is enclosed but you can't access it directly from the cart lodge i.e. I mean like a regular house where your back door opens up onto your garden. You have to exit the property, and turn to the side of the building and then through a gate into the garden. It would be much better if a doorway was made in the cart lodge which opened up onto the garden. Therefore the door could be left open and the dogs could come and go as they pleased. There were times when our dogs had to be kept inside the building as we didn't want to shut them away from us in the garden on their own. We couldn't let them roam free, as they could easily have run out onto the main road as the entire land of the property wasn't protected by secure gates. There was also the added disappointment of not being able to get up first thing in the morning and take the dogs for a walk before breakfast. There are no pathways to walk along the road, and as they are all winding country lanes it can be quite dangerous. The many public footpaths lead to a dead end, so you can only really walk down them for 10 mins max, and then you have to come back up. We had to take our dogs out in the car every day and drive for miles before we could walk them somewhere comfortable. However, there is a very large area of land at the site which was made available to us, so at least we could play frisbee and ball with them. I'd personally recommend this to anyone who was looking to get away from it all, but without taking dogs. The nearest sign of civilisation is approximately 6 miles away so you do need to drive if you want to get out.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWINEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed in the Cart Lodge barn and found the accommodation spacious and of a high standard. The setting is beautiful, peaceful and well placed for exploring the Suffolk coats/countryside. The animals were a lot of fun and the games room ideal for a rainy day. The congenial hosts made us very welcome, we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorseMadMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
19.7 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.5 km away
Colston Hall
Colston Hall
#1 of 1 in Badingham
29 reviews
5.5 km away
Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
996 reviews
22.2 km away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
330 reviews
16.9 km away
3 Tuns Coaching Inn
3 Tuns Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Pettistree
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potash Barns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potash Barns

Property: Potash Barns
Address: Potash Farm The Street | Brundish, Woodbridge IP13 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Woodbridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Potash Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Potash Barns Woodbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing