We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed one night as we were attending 50TH birthday party at the nearby jockey club.

A clean refurbished room in the main hotel which was clean and warm.

did not have time to use leisure facilities. Cooked breakfast was nice and cooked to order though milk for cereals was a little warm.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 860 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed at the hotel on business and was very disappointed. The hotel is set in really nice surroundings and has a luxurious feel to it. My room was very clean and modern but the service lets the hotel down. The main problem was housekeeping and the restaurant.

Housekeeping was a let-down as the sheets were marked. They were undoubtedly clean but I guess their laundry service is not very good so it was bit off-putting to see stains and marks on the sheets and not what I’d expect for a 4-star hotel. Also, their turn-down service consisted of the chambermaid spending less than 2 seconds turning over one corner of the duvet.

For dinner I chose the 3-course table d’hote menu but they gave me the al la carte menu to choose my sweet from and I didn’t realise this until the bill arrived. Other diners had the same problem as we later found out there is also a table d’hote sweet menu which you have to ask for. The portions were very small for the expensive £26.50 3-course table d'hote menu.

For Breakfast I asked for a full cooked breakfast but I had just 4 items on the plate as the hash browns, fried bread, baked beans etc.. are listed under additional items and unless you specifically ask for these items you don’t get them!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmwicks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed late in January, reception 'curt', room ok but bedlinen had holes in the undersheet.
Shower didn't work and in serious need of repair.
Bath drain plug broken.
Luncheon was a disaster with the two ladies in our party eating the same dish - 5 days now and both down with food poisoning.
Called the hotel management, I would suggest the 'couldn't care less' attitude to our comments about the food was both defensive and most unhelpful.
Sad because some of the staff were trying very hard to make our stay enjoyable.
We shall stay elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank international4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Having pre-booked our visit, we were offered an up-grade on arrival and spent an excellent over-night stay in one of the Executive Suits. Overlooking the inner courtyard, it had atmospheric views of the Newmarket training runs and sky-line.

We took dinner and breakfast in the Orangery Restaurant. Excellent menu choices which were prepared and served to the highest standard.

The grounds of the hotel are extensive with plenty of car parking spaces. The grounds are well maintained by a sturdy group of gardeners.

The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the centre of Newmarket, past the training runs with the many wonderful horses. The atmosphere is breathtaking.

Excellent value for money provided by a dedicated group of staff.

Room Tip: Arrive early and you may get an up-grade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at the Bedford Lodge on 14th and 15th January 2012. This is one of many times we stayed there. As usual our break was fantastic! The hotel is lovely and despite a lot of redecorating going on it did not intrude on our enjoyment as it was done very discretely! The staff are just amazing, the food is among the best we've had anywhere and the facilities, including The Edge health club which we used a lot, is beautiful and very relaxing! Our room was on the second floor overlooking the garden and it was fabulous, confortable beds, lovely bathroom and 32" TV. Cool!! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter when there's a function
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenesullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
30.5 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
11.3 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
740 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,233 reviews
0.8 km away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
0.9 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa

Address: 11 Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: ₹ 8,605 - ₹ 21,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is Newmarket's only four Red star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourses, Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa is perfect for a leisure or racing break, as well as corporate stays, along with state of the art conference rooms. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Squires Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa Newmarket, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing