We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our second visit to the Swan,Lavenham,We had a realy comfortable room ensuite etc. The evening meal was prepared to a high standard and we were looked after by the staff in the restraunt,nothing was too much trouble.
full english breakfast set us up for the day .
Thanks to the manager and staff ,day and night,got to be our fav.hotel.
Linda and Alan Nicholls.
Kings Norton ,West mids.

Room Tip: higher floors quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lordnorton_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,030 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here at the end of January on the Travelzoo deal which was amazing value. Lovely bottle of champagne and body cream gift in the room when we checked in. Beautiful building and very charming, but unsurprisingly for such an old building it was incredibly cold, we had to make use of the portable heater they had placed in the room.
We had an end of corridor room and were looking forward to a peaceful nights' sleep so were not best impressed at 11.30pm when the people in the room next to ours (who were extremely drunk) started shouting in the corridor right outside our room. There was a group of them - about 6 people, and it degenerated into a mock fight with the women screaming.... I rang reception several times with no answer so had no choice but to go into the corridor in my pyjamas and ask them to keep the noise down. They all stank of alcohol and weren't very polite to me when I asked them to keep the noise down, but I think accepted their behaviour was out of order as they soon quietened down. Just really wish someone had been at reception to avoid us having to deal with this directly. Our neighbours didn't feel that sorry about their behaviour though as they slammed their door loudly several times upon leaving their room the next morning - nice!
Clearly this is not the hotel's fault, but just a warning that there is very little soundproofing between the rooms, so maybe avoid it during busy times of the year if you're after peace and quiet.
Our three course dinner was lovely, great food and decent sized portions - only gripe was we seemed to be forgotten after our main course and had to wait a long time to place our dessert order. Breakfast was nice but I do prefer a buffet style as this does enable you to choose exactly what you want instead of ordering most things via a menu - but the food itself was very nice.
Lavenham is a gorgeous village and we had a lovely long walk in the surrounding countryside. A very pleasant weekend break - just make sure you don't get lumbered with noisy neighbours!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have been coming to the Swan from some distance for 14 years. Never, ever have we been disappointed. The lunch menu this week was superb, excellent service and a real pleasure! Nothing but positives here folks....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeandCaroline2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Recently spent a few days at this hotel. It was most enjoyable and I highly recommend it. The staff helpful and friendly,The food was superb.The ambience very welcoming.Our room was number 22 at the end of a corridor so we were not disturbed.It overlooked the pretty garden.The bathroom didn't have a window which I would have liked but thats a purely personal preference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline1965190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just back from a fabulous one night stay to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. We had booked a great offer through Travelzoo which included dinner, bed, breakfast and a complimentary bottle of champagne. Our room was really lovely, all old beams and luxurious fittings.
Dinner in the Gallery restaurant was delicious, as was breakfast the next morning.
This was our second stay at the hotel and it is a real treat to stay in such a lovely establishment. All the staff, without exception, are really pleasant and professional. Thank you for making our anniversary so special.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
25.7 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
17.6 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,051 reviews
9.1 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,245 reviews
6.1 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
545 reviews
29 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: ₹ 8,782 - ₹ 20,664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing