We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Lavenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Great House is a wonderful place to go for a meal in Suffolk. The food was perfectly cooked and presented and there was plenty of choice on the set menu. Although the restaurant was full there was plenty of space around you to allow you to feel comfortable and relaxed. The staff were attentive, yet not intrusive. So pleased that it is only half an hours drive from where we live. We will be booking a table there again very soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    49
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
251
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

The Great House, Lavenham is by far the best restaurant for miles around. Stylish interior and attentive staff compliment the excellent menu.
Well worth a visit for lunch any time of the year but especially so on a cold October day when a little luxury helps autumn on its way.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Great House is impressive even before you walk in the front door with its admirable position in lovely Lavenham. Our room, number three was very spacious, loaded with character beams, very tastefully and comfortably furnished with a huge heavenly bed. Thoughtful touches are everwhere including a Tassimo coffee machine.
After a wander about the village we were ready for dinner which was the main reason for our visit after reading the review in the good food guide.
The food here is spectacular with intelligent flavour combinations, superb ingredients and very skilful cooking. Everything we ate was delicious, inventive and prepared and cooked perfectly. One of the best meals we have ever had.
So often fine dining establishments have an air of hushed awe which is outmoded and pretentious. The service here is a delight with all the staff jolly and amiable and attentive without being intrusive. We would especially like to praise Thierry the restaurant manager for his humour and his in-depth knowledge of the wine list from which he selected for us a wonderful bottle which really complemented our main courses. Superb!
After a great night's sleep we treated ourselves to breakfast in bed, delivered with a smile exactly on time and again of very high quality.
The great house must be up there with Britain's best and we hope to return someday. We extend our congratulations to the owners and staff for creating and maintaining a hotel and restaurant of such a very high standard.

Room Tip: room 3 is splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teepees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCrepy, Owner at Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review .
It is very important to us and our team that all our guests fully enjoy their stay.
It gives us a great sense of satisfaction when we read such positive feedback.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Great House.
Kind Regards.
Regis & Martine Crepy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

The staff were friendly and attentive from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.
Regis & Martine (the owners) are the perfect hosts, their attention to detail and to the needs of their guests is very genuine and they make it appear effortless.

Our room was beautifully decorated and very spacious and you fancy a nightcap to end they are one step ahead of you!! You will find a crystal decanter and glasses alongside the sophisticated coffee machine in one of the ample bedroom cupboards.

The food was first class, in particular the tomato tarte tatin and the foie gras and if you are a cheese fan ......make sure you save some space as the cheese trolley is extensive

Honestly cannot think of anything that could be improved.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed two nights at the Great House, having a Special Leisure Break. We payed 50£ extra and got one of the suites. It was very large and beautifully decorated. The room was Elizabethan but had modern conveniences. The bed was huge and very comfortable. We loved it!
The food was delicious and the restaurant had a wonderful French atmosphere. We would love to return.

Room Tip: Take the Special Leisure Break - it is good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppinsgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
0.2 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
25.7 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
28.9 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
33.6 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
30.5 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Market Place, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,181 - ₹ 14,609
Hotel Class:5 star — Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel and Restaurant in Lavenham is located in the heart of Suffolk, offering unmatched service and luxurious accommodation. The hotel has recently undergone a complete re-fit which has raised the bar to an even higher level. It is an unparalleled experience of exquisite French style and flair, perfectly matched to the heart of English village life offering the best in style and comfort with character and warmth. AA 5 Star Restaurant with Rooms - Inspector's choice. AA 3 rosette Restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavenham Great House Hotel And Restaurant
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing