We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cedar Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A romantic night in, or you can dine al fresco on the sun deck. The hot tub, with ample seating for four, offers that something special for a great relaxing break.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
A romantic night in, or you can dine al fresco on the sun deck.
The hot tub, with ample seating for four, offers that something special for a great relaxing break.
Atmospheric lighting for those special meals in.
Stunning contemporary design with fully equipped kitchen, and adjoining dining area.
A spacious bright shower room with large shower enclosure.
Wake up in a king-size bed with French windows opening up onto the sun deck with hot tub close by.
Enjoy the private garden setting.
The high quality hot tub sits on the sun deck close to the bedroom doors.
A relaxing retreat, inside and out.
Will you be celebrating? Ask about our romantic package, for just £49 payable once here.
Upthorpe Lodges provide a private and quiet holiday retreat.
Close by is Wyken Hall, with gardens, restaurant, cafe and weekly farmers market.
A short walk away, the local wildlife reserve, Sid's Piece, has views beyond Stanton Mill.
Traditional timber-frame houses at Walsham le Willows, with two pubs and a prize-winning butchers.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clairino
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Can only repeat what has already been said lovely lodge high standard of decor and so well equipped. Hot tub fabulous, completely private, lovely to be in and watch the sun go down.
Stanton is a nice village within walking distance which has a pub, fish and chip shop, a bakery and general stores.
We had a lovely relaxed time here and would definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to give a review and we're glad you had a good time. Look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinlov...
Austin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a great weekend at Cedar Lodge. The hot tub was superb and the lodge itself was lovely - clean and modern but homely and it was well equipped. The kitchen in particular was very well stocked with the small things that you wouldn't necessarily want to buy especially just for a weekend away (e.g. condiments, cooking oil, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets etc) if you want to cook. The surroundings were peaceful which made the hot tub even more relaxing under the stars at night! We wanted a relaxing getaway and the lodge was perfect for this. Planning to book again soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge, and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill233
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I booked a 3 night break at Cedar lodge for a relaxing break. We really were not sure what to expect, however we were completely blown away! The lodge was so much bigger than we had expected from looking at the photos, it is finished to a very high spec and contains absolutely everything you could possibly require to ensure you have a relaxing break!
We took a car full of bits and bobs from home 'just in case', however it certainly was not required. Every detail and possibility had been thought of and catered for. There was even a lovely welcome basket for our arrival full of local goodies and fresh milk in the fridge.
We definitely book again and would not hesitate to recommend this lodge to anyone! It's perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub was the best!
Liked least: N/A Everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thanks very much for your very kind review, and you are of course welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison W
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Lodge”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful few days staying in Cedar Lodge, the welcome hamper of local produce was a lovely touch. Tea, coffee and milk were also provided allowing us a much needed cup of tea as we unpacked. So much thought and attention to detail has gone into the lodge, Ian and Debbie should be really proud. It has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing break.

The kitchen is well stocked with every gadget and utensil you could possibly need!

The large bathroom has a huge shower, heated towel rail and an LED lit mirror that de-mists itself, along with plenty of soft towels and 2 robes.

The bedroom has a king size bed with lovely linen, plenty of storage space, a TV, hairdryer and a very clever clockradio!!

The lodge has a large private garden with decked area, lawn, herb garden and planted areas. Loungers are provided along with outside table and chairs. Of course we must mention the hot tub which was the hi-light and really came into its own at night once the colour changing lights came on, both in the tub and on the lodge, how wonderful to sit out watching the stars every night.

The lodge has great Eco credentials too, solar panels, triple glazing, under floor heating...

Have we convinced you yet? This is a truly wonderful place to stay!

If you do decide to venture away from the lodge Ian and Debbie have very helpfully provided Ordnance Survey maps of the area for you to use too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Peace and tranquility and the hot tub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thanks for choosing Cedar Lodge, and also for taking the time to submit your review and lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurajade...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Absolutely AMAZING! Loved every minute.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Me and my partner come to stay at the beautiful cedar lodge after a trip to Vegas to relax and see family who live near by. Everything was catered for and we didn't need anything. The lodge is amazing, it was so clean and fresh. The hot tub was also amazing really added to our stay and we was in there every night. Everything was modern and the owners couldn't have done more if they tried. Even offering to supply additional seating and cutlery. We will be back 100%.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
We're so pleased you had a great time, and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing